Yale University Library Research Guides: ENGL 250 / ENGL 774: Romanticism and Anti-Romanticism: Home

Searching for Resources

Quicksearch
A combined search of the library's books, journals, databases, and special collections. Retrieves results from both Orbis and Morris (the Law Library catalog). With a Google-like search function, Quicksearch tends to handle keyword searches better than Orbis; in fact, a downside may be its versatility and retrieval of a large number of results. Use the search refinements to limit your searches by format, author, subject, date of publication, language, and library location. You can also select to view 'available online' results only.
Yale Library Catalog (Orbis)
The library catalog can be used to search for books, e-books, journals, databases, and special collection items owned by the library. Individual journal articles cannot be retrieved via the catalog. Instead, the catalog can be used to find issues of a particular journal or a link to a journal database like JSTOR.
Borrow Direct
Borrow Direct is a platform that allows you to search for and request books from partner libraries when our copy is checked out or we do not hold it. Books usually arrive within 2-3 business days. During the pandemic, books can be shipped directly to residential addresses.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a service for borrowing materials not held by Yale. If you have tried locating an item via the catalog and from a partner library via Borrow Direct, and it is not available, try requesting it via Interlibrary Loan and the library will try to source it from a global network of partner libraries. Articles can take 2-4 days to source, and book requests take longer, on average 9-12 days.
Archives at Yale
Portal to archival materials and materials held in special collections. Take a look at the Samuel Taylor Coleridge Collection (featuring letters to contemporaries and a small selection of ms), the William Wordsworth Collection, the William Speck Collection of Goetheana, the George Gordon Byron Collection, etc. Check the PDF Finding Aid for each collection to assess whether it contains something of interest to your project. Use the "Navigate the Collection" drop-down menu to see more information about each item and to request it via Aeon (external site).
WorldCat
WorldCat is a database of catalog records from approximately 10,000 libraries around the world. If you are looking for a resource that is not discoverable either in our catalog or in Borrow Direct, check World Cat to see the nearest library that owns the items. Then request the item via Interlibrary Loan for use at Yale.

Helpful Resources

Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850, edited by Christopher John Murray
"Written to stress the crosscurrent of ideas, this cultural encyclopedia provides clearly written and authoritative articles. Thoughts, themes, people, and nations that define the Romantic Era, as well as some frequently overlooked topics, receive their first encyclopedic treatments in 850 signed articles, with bibliographies and coverage of historical antecedents and lingering influences of romanticism. Even casual browsers will discover much to enjoy here."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics.
The Complete Poetry and Prose of William Blake
Online edition of David V. Erdman's Complete Poetry and Prose of William Blake, revised edition (Anchor / Doubleday, 1988).
William Blake Archive
Digital archive of William Blake's illuminated works, commercial book illustrations, letters, and a number of digitized manuscripts. The collection can be searched by medium, i.e. pencil sketches, monochrome wash, watercolors, prints.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers grants full-text access to the British Library's collection of newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Included are Parliamentary papers, the London daily news, English humor of the 1600s, and other early English news media.
British Periodicals
British periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Nineteenth-Century Literary Society: the John Murray Publishing Archive
Nineteenth Century Literary Society makes available items from the archive of the historic John Murray publishing company. From book history to travel writing, politics to poetry, this database introduces a new repository for nineteenth century culture and the literary luminaries who shaped it.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Scottish women poets of the Romantic period features a collection of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women. The database includes contemporary critical reviews and scholarly essays.

Other Archival Resources

Archives of the Royal Literary Fund
The Literary Fund (Royal Literary Fund, or RLF, from 1842) was founded in 1790 by dissenting minister David Williams to support writers in need. Authors that the Fund has assisted include Samuel Taylor Coleridge, James Hogg, John Clare, Joseph Conrad, Bram Stoker, D.H. Lawrence, and James Joyce. The collection includes case files for these and many other lesser-known figures. Accessing the link requires being logged-in to the Yale VPN.
Corvey Collection of European Literature
A digital collection of literary works from the Corvey Castle Library (Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (1779–1834)'s library). The collection focuses on the 1820s and 1830s and includes more than 3250 English-language works by over 1250 different writers, many by women writers relatively unknown today, as well many other works in French and German. A key resource for British Romantic era writing. Access via link requires being logged-in to the Yale VPN.
British Library Sabine Baring-Gould and Thomas Crampton Collections
Popular street literature, especially ballads. In the 1870s, Thomas Crampton sold his collection of ballads printed c. 1860-1870 to the BL. Included is also Reverend Sabine Baring-Gould collection of ballads donated to the British Museum in the late 1890s. Most of the latter items date from 1800 to 1870.
The Grand Tour
Database of digitized archival materials from the Beinecke, the British Library, the British Institute in Florence, the Cornwall Record Office, and other repositories. Includes materials related to the Grand Tour by or about figures such as Thomas Jones (1742-1803), Richard Lassels, Edward Lear, William Marlow (1740-1813), John Stuart Mill, Jacob More, William Pars, Thomas Patch, Joshua Reynolds, Henry Crabb Robinson, Thomas Rowlandson, Sir Philip Sidney, Tobias Smollett, Joseph Spence, Mariana Starke, Henry Swinburne, Francis Towne, J.M.W. Turner, Joseph Wright, of Derby, Richard Wilson (1713-1782).

Librarian

Carla Baricz

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

Sterling Memorial Library 311C

203-432-1761

Subjects: English

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography is the major index for literary studies; it's updated several times throughout the year. This is a good place to begin looking for scholarship on the texts and writers covered this semester. The index includes secondary source material on the following subjects:

Modern literatures
Literary theory and criticism
Linguistics
Teaching of language
Film, television and theater
Rhetoric and composition
History of the book
Folklore

A helpful way to search the MLA Bibliography is by using the Advanced search interface to run a "Primary Subject Author" and "Primary Subject Work" search.

ENGL 250 / ENGL 774: Romanticism and Anti-Romanticism: Home

Searching for Resources

Helpful Resources

Other Archival Resources

Librarian

MLA International Bibliography

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries