Yale University Library Research Guides: Manuscripts and Archives holdings related to Japan: Home

Tools

Archives at Yale
The Archives at Yale is for searching archival and manuscript collections held in Yale University. It provides information about “the creation, historical context, arrangement, and content of archival and manuscript collections as well as the information necessary for users to identify and request the portions relevant to their research.”
Quicksearch
Quicksearch also reveals collections in Manuscripts and Archives. For example, searching "Japan" and "atomic bomb" as keywords specifying Manuscripts and Archives will bring up records of such collections as the Papers of George B. Darling, the executive director of the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission in Hiroshima in 1957.

About collections

Collections related to Japan in the Manuscripts and Archives are very rich in travel accounts of Yale professors to Japan, records of Japanese graduates from Yale which includes many photographs of Japan, personal correspondences from Japanese notable figures, and some artifacts collected in Japan, etc. The collections are categorized by subject or primary emphasis. Click appropriate tab above to discover related collections for your research.

Example of Collections:

Image of Japanese petition attributed to the hand of Yoshida Shoin 吉田松陰.

Samuel Wells Williams family papers, 1809-1983 (inclusive), 1809-1941 (bulk). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

Visit Manuscripts & Archives!

View Larger Map

Manuscripts & Archives

Yale University Library
P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

Phone: (203) 432-1735
Fax: (203) 432-7441
E-mail: mssa.assist@yale.edu

Manuscripts and Archives holdings related to Japan: Home

Tools

About collections

Visit Manuscripts & Archives!

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries