Yale collections
The Yale Libraries have an extensive collection of books, journals, microfilm, and archival materials relating to LGBTQI+ studies. Materials can be found at several libraries, including The Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Sterling Memorial Library, and Marx Science and Social Science Library.
Selected Books at Yale
21st Century Sexualities by
Exploring sexuality in the twenty-first century, this unique book collects together more than fifty timely and accessible contributions to create a wide-ranging and compelling picture of contemporary American sexuality. Incorporating the latest cutting-edge controversies, theory and methodological material from the major domains of sexual education, sexual health, sexual rights, and globalization, this book includes a superb editorial overview that opens up the field for students and teachers alike. This anthology will be an invaluable supplement to all levels of students and researchers interested in sexuality across a range of disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, gender and sexuality studies and politics.
Call Number: HQ16 .A18X 2007 (LC) SMLISBN: 0415773067Publication Date: 2007-05-30
Caring for Lesbian and Gay People by
What should you say if your patient is struggling with her sexuality? How do you respond to your married patient when he discloses to you his same-sex sexual history? To which medical studies do you turn when you need to know more about club drugs? As physicians and health professionals, you want to provide the best possible care for your patients, but medical schools and other health care teaching institutions do not generally provide comprehensive information on how to approach caring for sexual-minority patients. Allan D. Peterkin and Cathy Risdon have written Caring for Lesbian and Gay People – the first medical guide to offer busy clinicians practical, accessible, and evidence-based information to help in the care of gay and lesbian patients. The authors begin with an overview of the history of medical relations with lesbian and gay patients, providing advice and guidelines for strengthening the doctor-patient relationship and raising the standard of care for all patients. The book then delves into a range of specific clinical issues, such as risk profiles for particular illnesses, screening for and managing sexually transmitted infections, and HIV in the primary care setting. Subsequent chapters cover such wide-ranging topics as mental health care and the effect of homophobia on relationships, same-sex parenting, the role that body image plays in health, and unique populations, such as lesbian and gay ethno-racial minorities, the transgendered, rural lesbian and gay people, and elders. Each chapter includes practical tips (advice on inclusive language, for example) and summaries, along with references, of written and online resources. Comprehensive and detailed, this work covers physical and mental health across the life cycle, with equal emphasis on women's and men's health. Based on more than twenty years of patient care and contributions to medical education and community development, this indispensable resource will greatly heighten the quality of care clinicians, health care practitioners, and educators can provide to their patients, and will in turn provide patients and consumers with the means to take an active role in their own health care.
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 P485 2003 (LC) SMLISBN: 0802048579Publication Date: 2003-06-29
The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health by
This new 2nd edition of the Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, reflects clinical and social changes since the publication of the first edition. Written by leading experts in the field of LGBT health in conjunction with The Fenway Institute at Fenway Health, one of the most trusted and respected community-based research, education, and care centers, this edition continues to present the important issues racing patients and practitioners, including: Principles for taking an IGBT-inclusive health history, Caring for LGBTQ youth, families, and older adults, Behavioral Health Care: coining out, intimate partner violence, drug, alcohol, and tobacco use, Understanding health care needs of transgender people, Development of gender identity in children and adolescents, Sexual health and HIV prevention, Policy and legal issues, The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, 2nd edition is a must-have resource for clinicians, students, and researchers working in hospitals, clinics, universities, libraries, and private practices in every community. Book jacket.
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 F46 2015 MEDICALISBN: 9781938921001Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Gender Affirmation by Call Number: RA564.9.T73 G46 2017 MEDICALISBN: 1626236836Publication Date: 2016-11-23
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health [2 Volumes] by
Recent years have seen a flood of high quality research related to the health of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and families. The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health is the first comprehensive resource to gather that knowledge in one place in the service of vital information needs. Both accurate and easy to understand, the two-volume handbook addresses physical, mental, and emotional health, as well as policy decisions affecting the LGBT community from youth through old age. Volume One is devoted to overall health of the population and preventive care, while Volume Two examines disease management. Entries discuss concerns as diverse as HIV/AIDS, substance abuse, domestic violence, depression, heart health, policy and advocacy, and research. The clear but detailed articles in this groundbreaking work will help readers cut through the noise and controversy surrounding scientific advances to make informed choices about their health and well-being.
ISBN: 9780313395666Publication Date: 2019-05-17
The Handbook of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Public Health by
Get the comprehensive resource for LGBT public health issues! Public health services for sexual minorities have suffered from practitioners'' lack of knowledge about sexual or gender orientation, specific health concerns, and inherent system homophobia and heterosexism. The Handbook of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Public Health: A Practitioner''s Guide to Service provides a unique focus on LGBT public health, offering positive direction for practitioners looking for guidance in methods to ensure a healthy community for all while taking into consideration the special needs of sexual minorities. Ignorance and fear by both practitioners and LGBT clients leads to less-than-optimum public health services. The Handbook of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Public Health extensively discusses these issues clearly, working to foster cultural competency among public health professionals. This book lays the groundwork for better understanding of LGBT health issues and their relationship to overall public health, then delves into the research on how incorporating LGBT cultural competency can improve academic institutions and continuing education programs. The problem of providing health care access and the health issues burdening each segment of the LGBT community are discussed in detail, all with a focus on providing effective solutions to tough challenges. Clear strategies are also presented for improving city, county, state, and national public health infrastructures and policies. The issue of productive and safe work environments in business and the private sector for LGBT individuals is addressed, along with a close look at the advantages--and pitfalls--of media and Internet resources. Many chapters are illustrated with tables and diagrams; each chapter is exhaustively referenced, includes useful lists of selected resources, and asks questions to spark thought on the issues as they pertain to the reader''s circumstances. The Handbook of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Public Health discusses: the inequities in health care for LGBT people overt prejudice, discrimination, disdain, or outright denial of services assumption by health professionals of risk factors based on sexual or gender orientation rather than individual behaviors and health history unwitting expression of biases of many public health practitioners the effect of social stigma on public health care services LGBT cultural competency framework for institutions of higher learning and professional organizations LGBT awareness, sensitivity, and competency training sexually transmitted diseases reproductive cancers intimate partner violence noncommunicable diseases among gay and bisexual men ''down low'' behavior (avowed straight men with spouses having sex with other men) as public health issue AIDS-related malignancies transsexuals and transphobia hormonal therapy sex reassignment surgery (SRS) mental health needs of transsexuals, cross-dressers, and intersex individuals barriers to health care access insurance systems confidentiality of medical records substance use health care issues for LGBT youth and young adults health care needs of LGBT elders recommendations for improvement of health and welfare services The Handbook of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Public Health is a one-of-a-kind resource for LGBT public health issues, essential for public health professionals, practitioners, health services professionals, substance abuse counselors, disease intervention specialists, public health advisors, community health service administrators, community based agencies, and community health nurses. Educators in community hea
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 H36X 2006 (LC) MEDICALISBN: 9781560234951Publication Date: 2006-02-23
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population by
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population addresses a people whose lack of health care access, including mistreatment and refusal of services, are often omitted from discussions about health care and insurance reform. Research suggests that LGBT people experience worse health outcomes than their heterosexual counterparts. Low rates of health insurance coverage, high rates of stress due to systematic harassment, stigma, discrimination, and lack of cultural competency in the health care system frequently manifest in negative health-related behaviors. The dearth of data collection on sexual orientation and identity in state and federal health care surveys has led to inadequate information about LGBT populations, and has impeded the establishment of health programs and public policies that benefit them. With its diverse perspectives, this book will not only benefit LGBT people, but will also more broadly improve the lives of entire communities, medical care, and prevention programs and services. This research provides a better understanding of the social and structural inequalities that LGBT populations experience. Improvements to our country s health care system should go beyond just providing universal insurance and should ensure equitable health care for all."
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 H42 2014 MEDICALISBN: 0739187023Publication Date: 2014-04-01
The Health of Sexual Minorities by
Offers chapters on LGBT developmental issues, stigma and discrimination, research methodologies, health concerns, and healthcare systems and services. Available both as a print volume and an e-Book.
Call Number: HV1449 .H42X 2007 (LC) CSSSIISBN: 0387288716Publication Date: 2006-12-15
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Intersex Healthcare by
Written by experienced clinicians and edited by Vanderbilt Program for LGBTI Health faculty, this book contains up-to-date expertise from physicians renowned for their work in LGBT health. This important text fills an informational void about the practical health needs of LGBT patients in both the primary care and specialty settings remains, and serves as a guide for LGBT preventive and specialty medicine that can be utilized within undergraduate medical education, residency training, and medical practice.
ISBN: 9783319197524Publication Date: 2016-02-17
The LGBT Casebook by
The goal of The LGBT Casebook is to help clinicians, trainees, and other mental health professionals address the mental health needs of LGBT people in the context of problems these individuals face in their everyday lives, including homophobia and discrimination.
Call Number: RC558 .L43 2012 MEDICALISBN: 9781585624218Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Sexual Minority Research in the New Millennium by
This book presents current research focusing on sexual minorities. Topics discussed include gay and lesbian parenthood; asexuality; media representations of trebly marginalised minorities; the effect of imaged contact on heterosexual women's attitudes toward lesbian women; the high-school experiences of sexual and gender minority youth and best practices in the development of interventions designed to attenuate homonegativity. The final entry is a "virtual discussion" in which contributors responded to a set of questions that focused on key issues in the field of sexual minority studies..
ISBN: 1612099394Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Therapeutic Perspectives on Working with Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Clients by
Following the success of Pink Therapy (1996 Open University Press) as a practical guide for therapists, counsellors and others in related professions working with lesbian, gay and bisexual clients in affirmative ways, this volume is the first to address how this can be approached from ten of the major therapeutic perspectives. Each approach is discussed with regard to its historical and theoretical relationship to these client groups and how the approach can be beneficial or negative. Guidelines for using the perspective supportively or practically are given, along with references for further study. The volume marks an important step in the dialogue between theoretical approaches and in the future development of, and debate about, these increasingly important fields in contemporary therapy.
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 T476X 2000 (LC) SMLISBN: 0335203337Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by
There is no one way to be transgender. Transgender and gender non-conforming people have many different ways of understanding their gender identities. Only recently have sex and gender been thought of as separate concepts, and we have learned that sex (traditionally thought of as physical orbiological) is as variable as gender (traditionally thought of as social). While trans people share many common experiences, there is immense diversity within trans communities. There are an estimated 700,000 transgendered individuals in the US and 15 million worldwide. Even still, there's been a notable lack of organized information for this sizable group.Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is a revolutionary resource - a comprehensive, reader-friendly guide for transgender people, with each chapter written by transgender or genderqueer authors. Inspired by Our Bodies, Ourselves, the classic and powerful compendium written for and by women, Trans Bodies,Trans Selves is widely accessible to the transgender population, providing authoritative information in an inclusive and respectful way and representing the collective knowledge base of dozens of influential experts. Each chapter takes the reader through an important transgender issue, such as race,religion, employment, medical and surgical transition, mental health topics, relationships, sexuality, parenthood, arts and culture, and many more. Anonymous quotes and testimonials from transgender people who have been surveyed about their experiences are woven throughout, adding compelling, personal voices to every page. In this unique way, hundreds of viewpoints from throughout the community have united to create this strong and pioneeringbook. It is a welcoming place for transgender and gender-questioning people, their partners and families, students, professors, guidance counselors, and others to look for up-to-date information on transgender life.
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T714X 2014 (LC) SML. Also available at other libraries.ISBN: 0199325359Publication Date: 2014-06-10
LGBTQIA+ Mental Health
LGBTQ Mental Health by
LGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences expands our understanding of mental health by considering the unique challenges faced by LGBTQ communities in the Majority World. Increased globalization and migration has highlighted the need for mental health clinicians to better understand these communities' experiences and needs. This book provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have heretofore received little attention in the psychology literature. Chapters focus on the cultural, social, legal, political, and psychological experiences of various LGBTQ subpopulations in Peru, Colombia, Ecuador, Jamaica, Russia, Mongolia, India, Malaysia, Thailand, and sub-Saharan Africa. Contributors summarize existing research on mental health outcomes for LGBTQ individuals in these countries or regions; offer key insights that challenge culturally-specific conceptions of normative, LGBTQ mental health and behavior; and offer recommendations for further research and mental health practice with these populations.
ISBN: 9781433830914Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Pocket Guide for Understanding LGBTQ Mental Health by
The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives. The editors have brought their specialized knowledge to the project and, along with contributors who are experts in the field of LGBTQ mental health, have created a book of uncommon empathy. The volume's structure is simple, consistent, and effective, with 10 chapters covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual, pansexual, and allied individuals. Some chapters overlap because some people identify with more than one of these identities. The writers have drawn on both the scientific literature and their own clinical experience to create a volume that is informative, practical, and easy to read. The book possesses an abundance of useful features: * All diagnostic and treatment discussions are based on the latest information found in DSM-5.* Each chapter includes straightforward, real-world, and evidence-based answers to "Questions Well-Meaning People Ask"--essentially, "What would patients, their friends, their parents, their physicians like to know about being X, Y, or Z?"* A special section in each chapter addresses themes that may emerge during therapy, preparing the clinician to identify and respond sensitively and knowledgeably to issues that may become salient as counseling progresses.* Each chapter concludes with "Five Take-Home Points," a handy summary of the most important information, allowing the reader to identify essential material and consolidate learning.* An extensive collection of resources is included, helping the reader to locate more information on reliable websites and from other authoritative sources. Written in a conversational style that will appeal to patients and families, as well as clinicians, the Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health explores the psychological and cultural context for each gender or sexual identity in a comprehensive, realistic, and affirming way.
ISBN: 9781615372751Publication Date: 2020-05-07
Intersectional Titles
Black LGBT Health in the United States by
Black LGBT Health in the United States: The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation focuses on the mental, physical, and spiritual aspects of health, and considers both risk and resiliency factors for the Black LGBT population. Contributors to this collection intimately understand the associations between health and intersectional anti-Black racism, heterosexism, homonegativity, biphobia, transphobia, and social class. This collection fills a gap in current scholarship by providing information about an array of health issues like cancer, juvenile incarceration, and depression that affect all subpopulations of Black LGBT people, especially Black bisexual-identified women, Black bisexual-identified men, and Black transgender men. This book is recommended for readers interested in psychology, health, gender studies, race studies, social work, and sociology.
ISBN: 9781498535762Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender People with Developmental Disabilities and Mental Retardation by
Experience the birth of the first support group for sexual minorities with developmental disabilities! Reflecting an unprecedented development in the disabled and sexual minority communities, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender People with Developmental Disabilities and Mental Retardation: Stories of the Rainbow Support Group describes the founding, achievements, and history of a unique group providing support for people with developmental disabilities or mental retardation (DD/MR) who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender. In this pathbreaking book, group founder John D. Allen describes the Rainbow Support Group's beginnings in 1998 at the New Haven Gay & Lesbian Community Center in Connecticut and the ways in which it has been shattering myths and stereotypes surrounding people with mental retardation ever since. From the author: "Not only are people with DD/MR full human beings with the same needs and desires for intimacy and healthy sexual expression as people without intellectual disabilities, but the group is evidence that some people with DD/MR have an understanding of sexual orientation as well. Acknowledging that people with mental retardation are sexual is a new development in the human service field, but one that is still in the pre-Stonewall days regarding those who are gay. Although people with mental retardation are given unprecedented freedom to make personal vocational decisions, there is an unfounded expectation that they do not have a sexuality--let alone a homosexuality. Members of the Rainbow Support Group discuss the same concerns as other gay people, but in a support system that recognizes their unique perspective." This insightful book shows how membership in the Rainbow Support Group addresses the very real fears and concerns of its members, including: being forced into heterosexual social situations, since that is the only available option for socialization dealing with being "outed" to peers and staff--since many DD/MR people are not their own legal guardians, this can lead to removal of privileges, various kinds of abuse, and other negative consequences in their day-to-day lives being ridiculed by unsupportive staff being excluded from family functions because of their sexual orientation It also illustrates the purely positive aspects of membership in the group, which provides: a place to learn appropriate ways to meet others, hear messages about safe sex, and feel empowered to advocate for their own intimacy needs an increased chance of finding a like-minded partner (although the group is certainly not a "dating service") an avenue for members to connect with others like them and with the larger gay community in the area events to participate in, such as holiday parties, field trips, movie nights, and gay pride celebrations The author continues: "What is exciting are the positive outcomes displayed once an individual enters the group. Members quickly develop a sense of ownership and wear rainbow-emblazoned clothing to meetings. Everyone has joined the host community center to begin receiving regular mailings and event discounts. Supervising staff report that members perform better at work, have fewer behavioral issues, and experience a greater feeling of contentment. For people with mental retardation, just to be able to say the words 'gay,' 'lesbian,' 'bisexual,' and 'transgender' in an affirming environment is a cutting-edge breakthrough. What the group has accomplished and will hopefully continue to illuminate is the understanding that people with DD/MR are entitled to a whole life experience, including discovering and enjoying their sexuality."
Call Number: HQ30.5 .A45X 2003 (LC) SMLISBN: 1560233966Publication Date: 2003-09-04
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging by
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging brings together cutting-edge research, practical information, and innovative thinking regarding the characteristics and processes of aging among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. Written by experts in the field, the book covers a range of subjects and provides a comprehensive knowledge base for practitioners, students, and researchers. Contributors address topics such as sexuality, relationships, legal issues, retirement planning, physical and mental health, substance abuse, community needs, gay and lesbian grandparents, and a model agency dedicated to delivering services to the senior LGBT population. Their writing takes a gay-affirmative approach that focuses on resilience, coping, and successful adaptation to aging and is sensitive to the importance of historical oppression in the lives of older members of sexual minorities. The authors also pay close attention to ethnic and cultural issues and identify where further research is needed. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging is a groundbreaking collection of some of the most significant voices in this area of research today. Gerontologists and those who serve the LGBT community are in great need of the information contained in this singular and definitive resource.
Call Number: HQ76.25 .L494X 2006 (LC) SMLISBN: 0231509855Publication Date: 2006-06-22
Transformations in Queer, Trans, and Intersex Health and Aging by
This book utilizes collaborative autoethnography to examine transformations in health and aging among queer, trans, and intersex people in society. To this end, the authors each utilize their lived experiences as queer, trans, and/or intersex people to discuss inequalities and norms in U.S. healthcare. Further, they elaborate upon some ways U.S. healthcare systems may become more inclusive of queer, trans, and intersex populations over time. In so doing, they utilize the autoethnographic cases to illustrate and describe the complexities of sex, gender, and sexualities in health and aging as well as the ways such intricacies facilitate societal inequalities in health and aging.
ISBN: 9781793616340Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Relevant Journals @ Yale
- Journal of the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association (JGLMA)Title ceased publication in 2002.