Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
: The medical library is open to users authorized to be on campus. Visit this page
Welcome! This toolkit is to identify top resources for the Department of Laboratory Medicine at Yale. In this guide, you'll find:
- Databases of interest to your specialty.
- Services available to help with your research.
Bioinformatics resources and tools, consultation, training, and services offered by the Medical Library are free for any Yale affiliate including faculty, students, postdocs, and staff.
All classes are free to all faculty, students and staff of Yale-New Haven Medical Center and Yale University.
GIS & Statistical Resources
Statistical Consultants work in a question-and-answer mode to help people with particular questions that come up in their research or classroom activities using statistical software, statistical methodologies, and geographic information systems.
Systematic Review (and other Searching) Service
Librarians are available to assist with systematic reviews and basic literature searching.
Other Library Resources
Electronic Journals and Books
Expert Search Tip: under Electronic Journals or Books: click on "by Subject" and choose "Pathology and Laboratory Medicine"
The main Library catalog where you will find books and other material held in the Yale University Library.
Read by QxMD
Read by QxMD is a web and mobile application that provides full text access to institutional journals subscriptions via the iPad, iPhone, Android, and web-enabled desktop.
BIOSIS / Biological Abstracts
BIOSIS contains literature references from all of the life sciences, including agriculture, cell biology, nutrition, public health, botany, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, zoology, and psychology.
Embase lives on the Ovid platform and is good for those interested in topics outside of mainstream medicine and outside of the United States. EMBASE is also particularly good for pharmacology searches, includes conference papers (unlike MEDLINE), and has its own controlled vocabulary system called Emtree.
Scopus offers peer-reviewed abstracts and citations in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Materials included range from scientific journals and books to conference proceedings.
Top Library Mobile Apps and Point-of-Care Tools
DynaMed Mobile App
This app provides full offline content to the DynaMed point-of-care resource. The application and data require approximately 1GB free on your device. To start the download process, go to DynaMed Plus, on the Yale or YNHH network and click on the link "Mobile Use - Get the DynaMed Plus Mobile App". Enter your email address and follow the instructions provided in the email you receive.
UpToDate Mobile App
The application is free but users MUST register to create a personal username and password in order to use the UpToDate mobile application. You must be on the Yale University or Yale-New Haven Hospital network (or using remote access) to register.
UCentral Mobile App
All content is installed by default including Prime PubMed, 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult, Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, Essential Evidence/POEMS, Evidence-based Medicine Guidelines, Hopkins Manual of Gynecology & Obstetrics, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Taber's Medical Dictionary, selected MEDLINE Journals & Unbound Medline search.
To get the core drug database, download the "IBM Micromedex Drug Reference" app and enter Yale's subscription password to activate. The password is available through the online version of Micromedex by clicking on the "Download Center" link when on the Yale University or Yale-New Haven Hospital network (or using remote access). There are apps available for Drug Interactions, IV Compatibility, and NeoFax/Pediatrics. Each app requires a unique institutional password. NeoFax/Pediatrics password is found by clicking on the link for Neofax/Pediatrics from the online version of Micromedex and then clicking on mobile.
VisualDx Mobile App
An active Internet connection is required to use VisualDx. You must register for a personal account while on either the Yale University or YNHH Secure WiFi network (or via a Yale VPN connection). After registering, download the app. Then activate it with the username and password you created on the online version of VisualDx.
Services Provided by a Departmental Librarian
Email me for help with a range of services, including:
- Expert searching of the literature in databases like PubMed
- Orientation to the library and its services for new residents, fellows, or faculty
- One-on-one consultations for your research projects
- Learning how to obtain library materials such as article PDFs or books
- Citation management programs, such as Endnote and Refworks
- Support for Systematic Reviews
- Advice for Keeping Current
I'm available by phone and email. I can also meet in person in your office or at the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library.