It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Latin American & Caribbean newspapers research guide. Use this guide to locate and access newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean. Various formats and coverage levels are available.
For more assistance, the Librarian for Latin American Studies is available for consultation and provides advanced reference services to students and faculty by appointment. The office of the collection is located on the 3rd floor of Sterling Memorial library in room 313.
The links below are useful for locating historical newspapers.
Digitized Latin American Newspapers (LAN) provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. LAN offers coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this region between 1805 and 1922.
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog. Contains millions of records of items owned by libraries around the world. It includes: books, films and slides, journals and newspapers (NOT individual articles), manuscripts, maps, musical scores, sounds recordings, computer files and videotapes. To find newspapers limit to SERIALS.
A cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal,
Ethnic NewsWatch includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives from 1959 to the present. Includes exile publications.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period... The newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper's short-lived publication."
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Begins with 1941.