Held at Beinecke - 1979 +S2
Held at Beinecke - 1973 +S2
Held at the Beinecke - O14 M64 +At2
(1834-1836) This thrice-weekly newspaper provides a view of the struggle over Texan independence from a border state that felt the direct effects of the conflict. Sometimes the official state newspaper and sometimes not, Atalaya’s coverage is nearly always favorable to Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna and a strong central government, an unusual stance for provincial newspapers of the period. Contains some poetry as well as detailed coverage of both state and federal legislative sessions that directly affect Tamaulipas.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20026
(1847-1848) This newspaper in the capital of a border state provides a Mexican perspective on the Mexican-American War and the treaty negotiations that cost Mexico half its territory. It contains strong criticism of Mexican army and support for state militias. It is also interesting for a romance novel that appears in installments in several issues.
Held at Beinecke - Folio S11
Held at Beinecke - Zc52 +G94
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 25
(1841) This bi-weekly border newspaper provides a look at independent Texas from across the border, documenting the unease that led up to the Mexican-American war. It also covers the ongoing struggles between Indians and settlers as well as instructions for raising cotton.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 25
Held at Beinecke - O14 M39 +G1
Held at LSF - Mexico P50 +Im7
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 19
Held at LSF - WD 7174
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct +Bd36
Held at Beinecke - 2011 +S15
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film 20741 Reel 1
Held at LSF - WQ 540
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 15
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film S20
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film S21
Held at the Beinecke - 1973 +S3
(1847) This weekly newspaper on an important trade route in Mexico’s most important coffee-growing region provides a useful perspective on the U.S. invasion of Mexico. Guerrilla activities and the actions of Mexico’s displaced government in Queretaro receive extensive coverage.
Held at Beinecke - Folio An44 M411 C715
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 26
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +B222
(1850) Yale’s two issues of this newspaper provide useful insights into the social and political life in a border town in the wake of the Mexican-American War. The newspaper is helpful in understanding a revolt that Santa Anna ally Francisco Vital Fernandez led.
Held at Beinecke - CF1201 +A18
Microfilm - SML - Call No. B20741 Reel 27
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 27
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 27
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 27
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 28, Reel 270
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 28
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 29
Microfilm - SML - Call No. FIlm B20741 Reel 41
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B19771 Reel 126
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 44-49, 275
(1823- 1828) — Although not as complete as Yale’s holdings of El Sol, the Aguila Mexicana provides an alternative, federalist (yorkist) view of the issues the early Mexican republic confronted. In the folio-size, four-page newspaper, editor Lorenzo de Zavala took a more libertarian view of the press’ role, publishing provocative commentary and entertaining stories about the new capital’s social life that occasionally elicited reprimands from its more staid competitor and even its own readers. El Aguila’s coverage of debates over whether Mexico would send an expeditionary force to liberate Cuba from Spain provides an especially insightful look at an issue that shaped Mexico’s view of its role in Latin America.
Held at LSF - Mexico A95 +Ah84
Legendary weekly of political satire and cartoons. In humorous poetry and dialogues, the editors warned against re-election on the eve of the porfiriato, the 35-year dictatorship of Porfirio Diaz that ended in the Mexican Revolution. The weekly was so famous that the Flores Magon brothers named their 1910 newspaper supporting that revolution against Diaz El Hijo del Ahuizote. Targets included the courts that judged accusations of abuse of freedom of the press and the growing government bureaucracy. Besides humor that still provokes laughter in the twenty-first century, the publication contains laboriously executed lithographs.
Bound with El Hijo de Ahuizote, t.18, no.832-849
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct bam31
Held at LSF - WC 16328
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 49
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels, 50-51, 275
Held at Beinecke - Folio AN61 M57 Am53
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 52
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 020
(1833) — In an era when commenting on religion had been strictly forbidden, this daily, unabashedly proclaimed itself a newspaper on religion, politics and literature. The editors argued that religion could not be separated from politics as the government was attempting to do. They defended the privileges of the Roman Catholic Church at a time when liberals sought to curb the influence of the clergy, raising the specter of the French Revolution as a warning of the havoc that liberal governments wreak. The newspaper also covered the cholera epidemic in detail. The newspaper halted publication because of problems with its printer.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 52
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +Ay61
(1833) A single issue of an anti-clerical newspaper, defending freedom of the press and advocating restrictions on church censorship.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 52
Held at the Beinecke - CF1201 +B65
1840 - Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 52
1860 - Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 52, 275
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 52
Held at LSF - WD 7168
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 53
1840 - Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M3 +B45
1847 - Held at LSF - WE 3282
Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M3 +B23
Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M3 +B52
Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M3 +B55
Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M3 +B63
Held at LSF - Folio Mexico OO14 M3 +B64
Held at LSF - WE 3274
Held at LSF - Folio Mexico OO14 M3 B57
Held at LSF - Folio Mexico OO14 M3 B58
Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M3 +B615
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 55-56
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +B645
(1870) Single issue of a political satire newspaper, including critiques of articles that appeared in other newspapers of the era.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 57
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 57, 275
MIcrofilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 57-59
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 60
(1832-1833) Despite the name, the five editions of this newspaper in the Yale Collection are mainly political propaganda, featuring short biographies of candidates for office. The newspaper is cited frequently in other publications of the period.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 60, 275
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 61-67
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B19771 Reel169
Held at Beinecke - 1973 Folio S4
Held at Beinecke - 1974 Folio S2
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S4
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 70-71
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 71
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 71, 276
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 72, 276
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reek 72
Held at Beinecke - 1973 +S5
Held at Beinecke - Zc50 +D39
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film S4459
Held at Beinecke - 1978 S74
Held at LSF - Folio Mexico OO14 M3 D3
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +D712
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +D713
Microfilm - SML - Film B20741 Reel 74
Held at LSF - Mexico A95 +D715
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +Ec73
(1867) A clever early advertising vehicle: a promotional pamphlet in the form of a newspaper.
Held at LSF - Mexico L10 +Ed81
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 75
(1810) Published the same year that Miguel Hidalgo began Mexico’s struggle for independence, this occasional publication discusses patriotism in light of the Napoleonic invasion of Spain.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 76
(1840) The single issue in the Yale collection commemorates the ninth anniversary of Vicente Guerrero’s execution with sonnets and by re-publishing the documents of his trial and execution order.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 79, 270
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 80
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film S4140
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 018
(1831-1834) Run by liberal activists Ignacio Cumplido and Vicente Rocafuerte, this semi-weekly attracted contributions from the nation’s leading political thinkers. It was among the first Latin American newspapers to promote religious tolerance. In doing so, it pushed the limits of press freedom and covered its own trials for abuse of freedom of the press. The newspaper also covered rebellions in Veracruz and Yucatan and the repressive government responses to them closely. It chronicles Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna’s transition from national hero to president to dictator. El Fenix was a forum for discussion, publishing individual defenses appealing to public opinion and exchanges between proponents of competing ideas. Cumplido later founded Siglo XIX, one of Mexico’s long-lived newspapers.
Held at SML - JS15 C5 G33 (LC)
Held at LSF - O14 M3 G24
Held at LSF - Mexico O17 M3 +G22
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 81-82
Held at LSF - O14 M3 G24
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film S1645
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 83-85
Held at Beinecke - Mexico He93m 341w
(1834) A thinly veiled allegory in installments by Jose Joaquin Fernandez de Lizardi, who wrote under the nom de plume El Pensador Mexicano and was the author of El Periquillo Sarniento, often named the first Hispanic-American novel. It sometimes refers explicitly to Spanish attempts to reconquer Mexico.
Held at LSF - Mexico A95 +H54
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 89
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 90
Also available on Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 90
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 92
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 97-100, 284
(1834-1837) Publishing twice or three times a week, and even daily for a short while, La Lima de Vulcano was the feisty rival of El Sol’s later days. Created as an unabashedly opposition newspaper, La Lima pushed the envelope of press freedom, then recounted the stories of its clashes with press prosecutors in its own pages. Coverage mellowed as politicians more in tune with the editor’s views came into power. At one point, the newspaper even defended the government’s decision to close another newspaper and send a colleague into exile.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 100
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 104
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 106
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 44
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 107
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 107
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 107
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 107
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 108-136
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film 20741 Reel 136
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 136
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 136
Microfilm- SML - Call No. Film B 20741 Reels 136-141
Held at Beinecke - 1973 Folio S5
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct +bn11
Held at Beinecke - Folio AN61 M57 N81
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct +bn84
Held at LSF - Mexico Ndm10 Ob61
Held at Beinecke - A83 Ob68
MIcrofilm - SML - Call No. Film 20741 Reels 167-174, 284
Microfilm - SML - Call No. B20741 Reels 175-176
Microfilm - SML - Call No. B20741 Reels 178-186
Held at Beinecke - 1975 +S15
Held at Beinecke - 1980 +S107
Held at Beinecke - Mexico He93m 337
Held at Beinecke - Mexico He93m 337
Microfilm - SML - Film S1645
(1863) Published in Spanish and French, this thrice-weekly newspaper was created by the French invasion force to inform Mexicans of all the new decrees and laws the occupation government issued. It also provided detailed accounts of government office budgets, including salaries. The newspaper also chronicles events leading up to Maximilian’s arrival in Mexico. Spanish and French versions are identical.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 189
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 190
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 190-191
Held at Beinecke - 1991 +S5 1830 1/23 1
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 015
Held at LSF - Folio Mexico A83 044 1
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B19771
Held at Beinecke - 2013 S4
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 209-211
Held at Beinecke - Folio AN61 M57 Si25
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 231-238
(1823- 1835) Published as a semi-weekly in the first two years after independence, El Sol became a daily newspaper on June 18, 1823, the issue that initiates the Yale holdings of the publication. While editors of the four-page broadsheet refer to themselves as liberals, they were Scottish rite masons and not libertarians. They repeatedly called for government controls to maintain order and supported a strong central government. Minutes of federal and local congresses, government decrees, regulations, and treaties dominate coverage. Proceedings of the Constitutional Congress (including a foiled coup), detailed coverage of Mexico’s first treaty negotiations with Spain (an implicit recognition of Mexican independence), debate over the treatment of foreigners in the new nation, concerns about settling Texas and California, and development of a mining law and British loans are of particular interest in early issues as are warnings about the ambitions of Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna. The newspaper is an especially rich source of context for the issues facing the new republic because of extensive contributions from readers, writing similar to today’s Op-Ed page. El Sol is particularly helpful when read in conjunction with its federalist rival, the Aguila Mexicana, because writers in the two newspapers refer to each other’s work. Foreign coverage taken from newspapers that arrived by ship often indicates the issues foremost in Mexicans’ concerns: Spain’s war with France, Colombia’s Constitutional Congress, and the liberation of Peru. The back page of each edition includes police reports and classified advertisements that provide insight into the daily life of post-independence Mexico.
Held at Beinecke - 1974 S5
Held at LSF - Mexico O144 M3 +T3
(1833- 1835) Published by the same printer that previously published the Aguila Mexicana, El Telegrafo is a more staid broadsheet, as befits the official newspaper of the Mexican government. The issues become most interesting after April 1834 when the official section, detailed minutes of congressional debates and publications of decrees, is supplemented by an unofficial section that begins modestly and gradually expands to fill about half the four-page newspaper. The unofficial section includes correspondence from the provinces and comments on daily life in the capital. Of particular interest are stories about the anti-clerical laws as the foundation for a brewing conflict that led to the Cristero revolt nearly a century later. Classified advertisements also provide insight into daily life during the period.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 239
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct +bt234 v.2
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 240
Held at Beinecke - 1982 +S7
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct bv58
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +V814
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 262
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 262-264
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reels 264-269
Held at Beinecke - Folio AN61 M57 V949
(1845) This newspaper, published every two days, contains letters to the editor on political situation in Mexico on eve of war with the United States, reports on the “Anglo-American” invasion of Matamoros and Mexican soldiers leaving for the campaign in Texas. It provides insights into how the conflicts with native peoples played into the mounting hostilities between the two nations, with accusations that Anglo-Americans are arming Commanches to attack Mexico, references to the Indian situation and possible treatment. It also illuminates the misgivings in Mexico about the coming war, accusing generals of making excuses for not launching campaign against Texas and indications of an agreement between U.S. and Mexico that would have avoided war. Among the most conservative voices in the Mexican press of the era, its columns called for a re-examination of federalism and attempts to revive centralist 1824 constitution.
Held at Beinecke - O14 M3 +M7
Held at Beinecke - Folio S13
Held at Beinecke - O14 M53 +Se4
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 16
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 19
Held at LSF - WS 136
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 P247
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 19
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 19
Held at Beinecke - 1973 Folio S8
Held at LSF - Mexico O14 M56 C1
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 57
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct Bc29
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 21
Microfilm - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 21
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +M541
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 22
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 270
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 270
Held at Beinecke - 1973 +S7
Held at Beinecke - 1973 +S8
(1846) This erratically published newspaper provides coverage of Mexican-American War from a Mexican perspective, showing how local events, even elections, continued despite the occupation. It is especially interesting for correspondence between Zachary Taylor and Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna.
Held at LSF - Mexico A95 D54
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 030
(1849) With the motto “Federation and Order,” this weekly published state decrees while keeping readers informed of events across the country as reported in other newspapers. Political and election news fills the columns, along with exhortations to vote. The newspaper also published the work of local poets.
Held at Beinecke - UWA605 E33 +M48
Held at LSF - Mexico CT bav56
Microfilm - SML - Film B20741 Reel 22
Held at Beinecke - 1975 +S20
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S41
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S42
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S44
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S37
Microfilm - SML - Film B20741 Reel 22
Held at Beinecke - O14 M59 +G1
Held at Beinecke - 1975 +S19
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S33
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 22
Held at SML - FolioSer A 4 (LC)
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct bm575
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 22
Held at Beinecke - O14 M59 +Op3
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S36
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S40
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +P85
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S38
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S35
Held at Beinecke - 1975 Folio S34
(1867-1875) The official newspaper of the state government, the earliest editions of this semi-weekly newspaper provide insights into life in the liberated portion of Mexico during the French occupation, including praise for local citizens who enlisted in the Mexican Army. Columns praising the Reform Constitution of 1857 remind citizens of the internal disputes that permitted the French occupation. Later editions record the results of a corruption investigation, including the punishment for bureaucrats found complicit in the scandal, and decrees creating the Stamp Act that was vigorously lampooned in El Ahuizote.They also detail the construction of a memorial to Hidalgo, supporting efforts to construct a unified national identity after the divisive warring that followed independence. Also of interest are fictional works published in installments and accounts from other newspapers of foreign and national news.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 22
Held at LSF - Mexico Ct +bun4
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 23
Held at Beinecke - Foli S54
Held at Beinecke - 1973 +S1
Held at Beinecke - 1973 Folio S3
Held at Beinecke - Folio AN61 T15 T158
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 reel 270
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 270
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 16
Held at LSF - MexicoO14 M48 +OL3
Held at Beinecke - AN61 T59 +Ou8
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 16
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 270
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 31
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 37
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 38
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 38
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film 20741 Reel 40
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +M538
(1827) Its location in Mexico’s most important Caribbean part assured that El Mercurio was always the first to receive news from abroad and that its summaries of foreign news were widely quoted in newspapers throughout the country. Only three editions of this important newspaper exist in the Yale collection. However, they provide important information about this significant voice in the press of the early Mexican republic. El Mercurio used many more graphics than other newspapers of its era and placed weather and business news on the front page at a time when most newspapers put political news first. Detailed cargo summaries provide an excellent source of information about trade. These issues also contain details of a French debate on press law, apparently reflecting Mexico’s concerns about its own press.
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 271
Microfilm - SML - Call No. Film B20741 Reel 41
(1827) An anti-Masonic daily that reflects the growing suspicion of foreign influence in the new republic, the newspaper also utilized its position in the nation’s major port to cover international news, as transmitted by arriving ships carrying foreign newspapers. It also kept careful track of shipping news and local labor news, including disputes at the local theater company that provide insight into daily life in the early republic. Because of its location, the newspaper was able to carefully chronicle the rise of Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna.
Held at Beinecke - 1973 +S4
Held at LSF - Mexico A83 +C868
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved