Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
March 1: Bass Library reopened; Sterling and Bass resume evening and weekend hours. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Manuscripts & Archives: Resumption of Services Following COVID-19 Closure: Home

This guide provides up-to-date information about the phased resumption of services for researchers in Manuscripts & Archives.

General Timeline for Resumption of Manuscripts & Archives Services

Beginning Monday, February 1, 2021, through the end of Yale's Spring term on Wednesday, May 19, 2021:

  • The Manuscripts & Archives Reading Room is open by appointment only (no drop-in access is available) from 10 AM-4 PM, Monday-Friday, to current Yale students in residence, and Yale faculty and staff who are authorized to be on campus.
    • Due to health and safety guidelines and in the interest of minimizing the number of individuals in library spaces, we are unable to extend library and reading room access to retired staff and faculty (without emeritus status). Please contact Ask Yale Library if you have questions about your status to access the library and special collections reading rooms.
  • Most staff members not involved in public services or digitization efforts are working from home.
  • Staff members continue to offer reference and consultation services remotely: email mssa.assist@yale.edu. Please allow 5-6 weeks for a response to your query.
  • Digitization services continue to be offered to patrons with a Yale NetID.
  • New digitization of collection material is not currently available to non-Yale patrons. Previously digitized materials are available free of charge.

Watch this site for updates regarding Manuscripts & Archives services during Yale University's Spring term (February 1-May 19, 2021).

For More Information ...

See the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies website for information about accessing that completely digitized collection.

Manuscripts & Archives website.

Yale University Library website.

University and Library Resources for COVID-19 Information

For information about Yale University Library's resumption of services, see the COVID-19 Library Updates.

For information on Yale University reopening see COVID-19: Yale Actions and Response.