To initiate a photoduplication request, you must be registered to use Special Collections at Yale.  If you have not yet registered in the system, you’ll need to create a new account. More information is available in the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale: Register If you have any difficulty, please do not hesitate to contact us mssa.assist@yale.edu.

How to request an image:

Find the item you want in one of the Yale Library catalogs (Orbis, Quicksearch, or Archives at Yale). For further details about finding special collections materials see Find and Request. The steps for requesting images varies slightly between systems.

1. Requesting from Archives at Yale
   1. Find and select the file you are interested in and click "Request"
   2. Currently, the only Type of request option is Reading Room, so simply click "Submit Request"
   3. Log into your account.
   4. Click "Main Menu" in the upper left corner.
   5. Under Requests in Progress, find the item and click the "Details" button.
   6. Click "Inquire About Digitization"
   7. Scroll through the New Photoduplication Request form, fill in "Format" (PDF, TIFF, JP2, etc.) from the drop down, add any important information about your order in the "Notes" field, and click "Submit."
2. Requesting from Orbis or Quicksearch
   1. In the item record, click on the link that says “Request” or “Request for use in Manuscripts and Archives”.
   2. Log into your account.
   3. Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and click on the radio button that says "Save Request for Later" 
   4. Under Requests in Progress, find the item and click the "Details" button.
   5. Click "Inquire About Digitization"
   6. Scroll through the New Photoduplication Request form, fill in "Format" (PDF, TIFF, JP2, etc.) from the drop down, add any important information about your order in the "Notes" field, and click "Submit Request"

Alternatively, you can submit a digitization request directly through your account. Log into your Yale Special Collections account and click "Digital Copies" in the top menu bar.

1. If you discovered the item in Archives at Yale
   1. Select the repository where the item is located from the drop down.
   2. Slowly type the Call Number into the form, and the drop down will show a list of options.
   3. Select the appropriate Call Number from the drop down.
   4. Select the Series or Addition number from the drop down.
   5. Select Box from drop down.
   6. Enter folder number(s).
   7. Title and Author should automatically populate.
   8. Scroll through the New Photoduplication Request form, fill in “Format” (PDF, TIFF, JP2, etc.) from the drop down, add any important information about your order in the “Notes” field, and click “Submit Request”
2. If you discovered the item in Orbis or Quicksearch
   1. Select the repository where the item is located from the drop down.
   2. Copy all relevant data from the item record in Orbis or Quicksearch, including, Call Number, Title, Author, Volume, to the corresponding fields in the request form. (Ignore any drop down data that pops up.)
   3. Scroll through the New Photoduplication Request form, fill in "Format" (PDF, TIFF, JP2, etc.) from the drop down, add any important information about your order in the "Notes" field, and click "Submit Request"