Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Manuscripts & Archives: Resumption of Services Following COVID-19 Closure: Reading Room Services Information

This guide provides up-to-date information about the phased resumption of services for researchers in Manuscripts & Archives.

General Information about Current Reading Room Services

The Manuscripts & Archives reading room will be open by appointment only to Yale students, faculty, and staff who have been approved for return to campus, beginning on Monday, August 31st, 2020, until students leave campus for the remainder of Fall term on Friday, November 20, 2020. Hours will be 10 AM-4 PM, Monday-Friday. We have not yet determined what, if any, reading room hours will be available after November 20.  You must be using Manuscripts & Archives collection material to be admitted to this secure special collections reading room. Please be aware of the following as you plan your visit:

  • Only Yale students, faculty, and staff with a Yale ID authorized to enter campus buildings during Fall term 2020 will be permitted into Sterling Memorial Library, and to use the Manuscripts & Archives reading room. See here for more information. This policy is mandated by Yale University and the Yale Library as part of the response to COVID-19 on the Yale campus.
  • Seating in the reading room will be limited to 7 researchers at a time, in order to maintain adequate physical distancing per Yale University policies.
  • Seat reservations must be made at least 24 hours before your intended visit. There will be no drop-in, same-day access to the reading room.
    • Your reservation will require a CAS login and in order to conduct onsite research you must swipe your valid Yale ID authorized to enter campus buildings.
  • Our regular hours for Fall Term 2020 are Monday-Friday, 10:00 AM-4:00 PM. Check the Hours listed on the Manuscripts & Archives website for any variations.
  • Over 99% of Manuscripts & Archives collection materials are stored offsite, and delivery takes 48 hours. Please be sure that you don't request a reading room seat reservation before your requested collection materials are scheduled to arrive. To avoid disappointment, we recommend that you confirm that the material you've requested is on ITEM ON HOLD status in your Yale Special Collections User Account before coming in for your scheduled reading room visit.
  • You must wear a mask and maintain adequate physical distancing while in the reading room, and must disinfect your table and chair and sanitize your hands with supplies we provide before receiving any collection material.
    • Failure to comply with these safety precautions may result in refusal of service.
  • We may need to close the Manuscripts & Archives reading room on short notice if staffing levels are inadequate to maintain service and security. We will notify you by email on the day of an unanticipated closure of the reading room if that becomes necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Manuscripts & Archives reading room, and thank you in advance for your adherence to all measures that the Yale University Library has in place to ensure the health and safety of our patrons and staff members.