Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Acheson Papers are a rich source of information on the policies, thoughts, and accomplishments of the secretary of state who guided American foreign policy from 1948 to 1953. The papers, which span the period from 1898 to 1989, are especially full for the period after Acheson left public office in 1953 until his death in 1971. Included in the correspondence, speech and lecture files, manuscripts of books and articles, and memoranda, which compose the papers, are examinations of such major topics of U.S. foreign policy as Korea; NATO; post-war relations with the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, and Germany; tensions in the Middle East; the war in Vietnam; and the U.S. posture towards Rhodesia and South Africa. Evaluations of the Truman, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations figure prominently in the papers, and Acheson's role as a member of the Yale Corporation is thoroughly documented. Major correspondents include personal friends and professional colleagues.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 22, folder 280: Correspondence, Marshall, George C. and Katherine, 1946-1965
• Series II, Box 38: Material related to Speeches and Writings, 1947-1948

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Robert Abercrombie Lovett Papers consist of correspondence, speeches, photographs, and memorabilia, most of which date from the periods in Robert Lovett's adult life when he was not serving in government. Henry L. Stimson, the secretary of war, asked Lovett to assume the position of assistant secretary of war for air in April, 1941. In this post Lovett directed the growth of United States air power and gained for the air corps the semi-autonomous status which it held within the army throughout World War II. In September, 1945, Lovett received the Distinguished Service Medal, and in December, resigned from government service to resume his work with Brown Brothers, Harriman & Co.Lovett returned to Washington in 1947 when he was appointed under secretary of state by Secretary of State George C. Marshall, a post which he held until Marshall left the State Department in January, 1949. During the Korean War, Lovett once again held positions in the Truman administration, from 1950-1951 as deputy secretary of defense and from 1951-1953 as secretary of defense.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 20, folder 267: Correspondence, Marshall, George C., 1944-1958

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview:  Correspondence, professional papers, personal papers and photographs that document Ray's private life, family and career. The bulk of the collection chronicles Ray's education at Yale University and professional career as a diplomat and administrator in East Asia from 1920 to 1953. There is also documentation on other family members, including Ray's father, Jefferson Franklin Ray, Sr., who served as a missionary in Japan.

Collection materials used in class session: ​​​​​​

• Series II, Box 7: Correspondence related to postwar United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA) in Asia.
• Series II, Box 8: Material related to postwar United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA) in Asia.
• Series II, Box 9: Reports related to postwar United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA) in Asia.

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Subject files are relative to the financial integration of Europe centering on monetary systems and banking. Of particular interest is the material concerning the economic reconstruction of Europe after W.W.II, which includes reports on the economic penetration of the Germans into the financial structures of occupied countries, including those in Eastern Europe. (See Boxes 24-26). Main topics include: International Monetary Fund, European Payments Union, European Economic Community, O.E.E.C, international liquidity and monetary reform, economic conditions in Europe and Latin America, problems with the U.S. dollar, gold and sterling, exchange rates and the unit of account. Files on Triffin's financial missions abroad for the U.S. government are divided by country. They cover Missions to Latin America, Missions to Western Europe and Japan.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 19, Various International Monetary Fund (IMF) files
• Box 20: BIS on Marshall Plan, 1947

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview:  The papers consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, cables, and printed material concerning economic warfare assembled by Keith Merrill when he served with the Board of Economic Warfare during World War II. Merrill intended to write a history of economic warfare, with emphasis on the violation of neutrality by the Swedes, and drafts of his manuscript are included in the papers.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 3, folder 26: Marshall Plan, 1948

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, speeches, writings, scrapbooks, printed matter, clippings and memorabilia of Charles Parsons, bibliophile and conservative polemicist and ideologist. Also included are some papers of Parsons' wife, Mary Elizabeth Curry Parsons, and speeches and writings of friends and associates of Parsons. Most of the papers are related to Parsons' advocacy and support of various conservative and anti-communist causes and issues, with the bulk of the material covering the period 1934-1965.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box 22: Correspondence of Others, Gregory Bern to George C. Marshall
• Series II, Box 23, folder 35: Speeches and Writings of Others, Anonymous, on the Marshall plan and on Senate Investigation of Communism
•  

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The records consist of correspondence, subject files, reports, memoranda, planning records, minutes of meetings, speeches, and biographical clippings documenting all aspects of Charles Seymour"s activities as president of Yale University.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Series I, Box: 102, Folder: 867-868: Marshall Plan, Committee for the, 1947-1949