Yale University Library Research Guides: Mary, Blessed Mother of Jesus: Home

Introduction

This subject guide is tailored for students seeking research materials on the Virgin Mary.

Here you will find:

- Encyclopedias and online bibliographies on the Virgin Mary.

- A list of helpful subject headings for books on Orbis.

- Websites with freely accessible resources about Mary and Mariology, including research guides of other libraries.

- Selected monographs for specific topics regarding Mary.

The Young Virgin,
Francisco de Zurbarán,
Spain, ca. 1632–33, The MET

The Oxford Handbook of Mary (Online) by Chris Maunder (Editor) Offers an interdisciplinary guide to Marian Studies, including chapters on textual, literary, and media analysis; theology; Church history; art history; studies on devotion in a variety of forms; cultural history; folk tradition; gender analysis; apparitions and apocalypticism.
Mary: The Complete Resource by Sarah Jane Boss, ed. This handbook on the history and contemporary practice of the cult of the Virgin Mary gives overviews of particular areas of study—both historical and thematic—together with texts from primary sources and important scholarly articles, some of which appear in English for the first time.
Theotokos: A Theological Encyclopedia of the Blessed Virgin Mary by Michael O'Carroll An encyclopedia on key theologians, concepts, and practices with regard to the Blessed Virgin Mary by a noted Catholic mariologist and ecumenist.

Email Me

Contact:

Yale Divinity School Library
409 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06511

L-203

203-432-6374

Subjects: Divinity, Religious Studies

Research on the Virgin Mary continues to be a vibrant area of scholarship. Here are some recent titles.

Introduction to Mariology by Manfred Hauke; Richard Chonak (Translator) Provides a synthesis of Mariology and development of Marian doctrine, as well as extensive bibliographic citation of Marian literature across a dozen languages.
Mary, Bearer of Life by Christopher Cocksworth Drawing on careful biblical exegesis, church history and ecumenical thinking, this book suggests how a serious understanding of Mary might influence our ethical thought, and considers some of the key theological tensions at the heart of the church's engagement with Mary.
Mary, Mother of God: Devotion and Doctrine in the Visual Arts, 1450-1700 by Barbara Haeger; Elliott Wise; James Clifton (eds.) This volume explores images of the Mother of God in early modern devotion, piety, and power. The book is divided into four sections, the first three of which link the subjects thematically and geographically in Europe, while the last one follows Mary's legacy.