Yale University Library Research Guides: REL 600 Introduction to Theology: Historical Theology

Historical Theology

The Dictionary of Historical Theology by Trevor A. Hart (Editor) A reference work designed for everyone with an interest in the history and development of Christian theology.
Call Number: DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room, BT21.2 D53X 2000
Historical Theology by Alister McGrath Provides all the material that students will need to understand the development of Christian theology from its beginnings.
A History of Christian Theology (2nd ed.) by William C. Placher; Derek R. Nelson A chronicle of the whole of Christian theology, from its background in the history of Israel to the liberation and postliberal theologies of recent years. This updated 30th anniversary edition includes expanded treatments of theological developments at the end of the 20th century, and preliminary trajectories for theology in the 21st century.
A History of Christian Doctrine (Online) by Hubert Cunliffe-Jones (Editor) Major themes of historical theology, such as the Fathers, the Heretics of the long story here find their due place, from sub-apostolic Christianity to Vatican II. Also featured are the contribution of Orthodox theology to the whole development, the complex problems of the pre-Reformation period and the modern period with its new perspectives of Church and society.

The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Biblical Interpretation (Online) by Paul M. Blowers (Editor); Peter W. Martens (Editor) Explores a wide array of themes related to the reception, canonization, interpretation, uses, and legacies of the Bible in early Christianity.
The SCM Press A-Z of Patristic Theology by John Anthony McGuckin Provides access to key terms, figures, socio-cultural developments, and controversies of the patristic period, extending to the ninth-century.
Call Number: Marvin Pope Biblical Studies Room
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson (Editor)
Call Number: DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room, BR162.2 .E53 2016 (LC)
T&T Clark Handbook of the Doctrine of Creation by Jason Goroncy (Volume Editor) The T&T Clark Handbook of the Doctrine of Creation provides an expansive range of resources introducing the doctrine of creation as understood in Christian traditions. It offers an examination of: how the Bible and various Christian traditions have imagined creation; how the doctrine of creation informs and is informed by various dogmatic commitments; and how the doctrine of creation relates to a range of human concerns and activities.