Skip to Main Content

YUL - Active Trials: Home

Current list of resources being trialed at Yale University Library

About E-Resource Trials

The following databases are being evaluated by Yale University Library on a trial basis. Decisions to acquire databases at the conclusion of the trial period are contingent upon availability of funds, appropriateness to the collection, and user feedback. To provide feedback on a currently active trial, use the feedback form.

Chernobyl Newspapers Collection

TRIAL PERIOD: April 8, 2024 - May 7, 2024

This resources provides access to three previously unavailable local newspapers — Prapor peremohy, Tribuna Energetika, and Trybuna pratsi — published in towns in the exclusion zone and its immediate vicinity. The newspapers Prapor peremohy and Trybuna pratsi provide researchers with an opportunity to explore the larger socio-cultural and historical context of the regions affected by the Chernobyl disaster. Tribuna Energetika, published under the aegis of the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, provides insight into the everyday life of the power plant and the city of Pripyat. It includes coverage of the operation of the power plant, its construction and expansion operations, as well as the life of the community of workers and specialists stationed there. Together these three publications offer researchers unique access to important lesser-known primary sources from the era, providing essential information for study of the social background and history of the Chernobyl disaster.

ProQuest History Vault: Bexar Archives - Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1826

TRIAL PERIOD: April 5, 2024 - May 5, 2024

This archive includes series of official documents detailing the military, civilian and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila, collected between 1717 though 1836 in San Antonio de Bexar. It is a primary source for the study of colonial Texas and covers the early years focusing on the settlers from the Canary Islands, religious matters, and relations with Native Americans. The 19th century content details the friction along the Texas-Louisiana border, Anglo-American incursions, smuggling and the troubles over Indian raids and atrocities, and records the Mexican revolution of 1810 with its counterpart in Texas plus the Gutierrez-Magee invasion of 1812-1813,  the battle of Medina in 1813, the Champ D'Asile incident in 1818, Dr. Long's expedition in 1819, the coming of Moses Austin in 1820, the Mexican independent regime in 1821, the Fredonian Rebellion in Nacogdoches in 1827, and, finally, the independence of Texas in 1836.

Psik: E-Library for Hebrew Books and Journals

TRIAL PERIOD: April 8, 2024 - May 7, 2024

This ebook platform offers a collection from various major Israeli publishers, with a focus on non-fiction and academic publications. Yale has access to the ebook content during the trial. The journal content is not accessible to us. During trial period, users may access the content without creating personal account with password. 

Znamia Digital Archive

TRIAL PERIOD: March 14, 2024 - April 13, 2024

This archive covers over nine decades of  Znamia (Знамя, Banner), an esteemed Soviet/Russian “thick journal” (tolstyi zhurnal). This monthly publication has been a platform for literature, critical analysis, philosophy and political commentary. Originally launched in January 1931 under the name LOKAF (Локаф), an acronym for the Literary Association of the Red Army and Navy, the journal was officially rebranded as Znamia—which translates to ‘Banner’ in English—in 1933. It has been a venue for showcasing the works of preeminent authors such as Anna Akhmatova, Alexander Tvardovsky, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Konstantin Paustovsky, Yuri Kazakov, and Yuri Trifonov. In the era of Perestroika, beginning in 1986, it evolved into one of Russia’s most widely read literary journals and served as a herald of the Perestroika movement.

Recently Expired Trials

Colonial Caribbean (Modules 2 & 3)

TRIAL PERIOD: September 30, 2023 - October 31, 2023

This resource covers the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870. It includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, as well as details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords. It presents materials from the Colonial Office files for the Caribbean, housed at The National Archives, UK.

This trial provides access to the following modules:

  • Module 2: Colonial Government and Abolition, 1833-1849
  • Module 3: Economic Change and Indentured Labour, 1850-1870

ACQUIRED: https://search.library.yale.edu/databases/16097001


MarinLit

TRIAL PERIOD: October 9, 2023 - November 8, 2023

This resource covers marine natural products research. It is text and structure searchable with coverage of marine natural products in journal articles, including new and revised compounds, synthesis, ecology, and biological activities.  Queries can be built across multiple fields and parameters, including properties, functional groups, NMR data, and taxonomic information. It also offers dereplication tools.

ACQUIRED: https://search.library.yale.edu/databases/17001033


Amnesty International Archives

TRIAL PERIOD: October 23, 2023 - November 20, 2023

The material within this collection is vital for studying the history of key political events, global social change, human rights violations and campaigns with themes including abolition of torture, state violence, political prisoners, minority rights, and more.

Outside of the organisational records, external releases, and posters of Amnesty International, the resource includes more than 50 hours of oral history content. Within these recordings individuals discuss their own experiences working for the organisation in its early years and onwards.


Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan

TRIAL PERIOD: October 23, 2023 - November 20, 2023

This resource provides digital access to official British government records relating to the region, from the decline of the Silk Road, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the “Great Game”, to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the 20th century.

Correspondence and eyewitness accounts from the region’s key players document the Anglo-Afghan Wars; the perspectives of Afghan and Persian rulers on foreign activities in the region; the interplay between China and Russia; and the expansion and fall of the Russian Empire; allowing scholars to build a balanced picture of the tumultuous history of the region.


Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. Section I, Crisis and Upheaval, 1959-1964

TRIAL PERIOD: October 23, 2023 - November 20, 2023

This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. It explores the rising tension across Indochina after 1959 and examines how the conflict crossed international borders and impacted the wider region. Administrative reports offer insight into the internal politics of Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia, covering key themes such as trade, economic development and increasing political instability. Documents reveal the growing intervention from foreign powers, as China and the Soviet Union sought to expand their influence over communist parties in the region. 

ACQUIRED: https://search.library.yale.edu/databases/16917389


Foreign Office Files for South East Asia 1963 - 1980, Module I: Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations, and the Post- Independence

TRIAL PERIOD: October 23, 2023 - November 20, 2023

This collection follows the establishment of an independent Malaysia in 1963, following the release of the Cobbold Commission Report. Under President Sukarno, Indonesia strongly opposed this decision and hostilities between the two countries escalated. Alongside tensions with Malaysia, Indonesia would experience growing civil unrest in this period, with anti-Communist sentiments on the rise. Documents featured in this collection cover these fundamental events alongside a number of key themes, including trade, economic development and authoritarian rule in this period.

Consisting of correspondence, maps, government dispatches and press releases from the FO 371, DO 169, DO 187, FCO 15 and FCO 24 series, this resource offers an insight into the political and economic challenges faced during this period as the region moved towards industrialisation and establishing the foundations for economic growth.

Module 1 contains files from DO 169, DO 187 and FO 371. The dates covered in these files range from 1954-1971, with the bulk of the documents relating to the period 1963-1966.


East India Company. Modules IV &V

TRIAL PERIOD: October 23, 2023 - November 20, 2023

Access to primary source documents from the India Office Records at the British Library in London. Containing royal charters, records of council meetings and resolutions, correspondence, legislation, lists of personnel, printed books, etcetera. This resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1595 to 1947, including administrative and ecclesiastical appointments; agriculture; charters and the Company's relationship to the English/British Crown; courts and legal affairs, including legislation; diplomacy, treaties and ambassadorial expeditions; finance and debt; the machinery of government; pay and pensions for Company servants and their families; railways; trade; warfare and military matters. 

This trial provides access to the following modules:

  • Module IV - Series E, Correspondence: Early Voyages, Formation and Conflict
  • Module V - Series E: Correspondence: Domestic Life, Governance and Territorial Expansion

Universal Database of Russian Medicine and Public Health Periodicals (UDB-MED)

TRIAL PERIOD: January 21, 2024 - February 21, 2024

This resource provides full-text access to approximately 75 of the leading medical and health periodicals in Russia. Most of the publications are from Meditsina, a major Russian medical publisher. Other publishers included are Dinastiia, Remedium, Russkii vrach and Velt. The research database covers such problems as public health, infectious diseases, general practice, pharmacology, pediatrics, nursing, skin diseases, etc.


Global Census Archive

TRIAL PERIOD: February 6, 2024 - March 2, 2024

This resource provides a single platform experience to explore the world’s census publications: all countries and regions, the complete depth of published census materials, including original census publications in e-book form, as well as modern tabular data in Excel format and GIS files for advanced users.


Sage Business Cases

TRIAL PERIOD: February 15, 2024-March 16, 2024

This digital collection of business cases provides faculty, students, and researchers with access to  authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.


Scopus AI

TRIAL PERIOD: February 29, 2024 - March 29, 2024

This search tool within the Scopus resource is powered by generative AI that draws from metadata and abstracts within Scopus published since 2013. It synthesizes the abstracts of relevant documents into referenced summaries in seconds. 


ProQuest History Vault: American Jewish Congress Records 

TRIAL PERIOD: FEBRUARY 27, 2024-APRIL 12, 2024

This resources provides access to the records of the American Jewish Congress from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society. This represents the seven series within the collection, covering the history of the American Jewish Congress, the proceedings of its governing committees, the files of the Executive Directors, and the records of the organization's national conventions. 


Trial Feedback

Please use the form linked below to provide feedback on the active trial you currently used. 

Interested in a resource?

If you're interested in an e-resource YUL doesn't currently have, feel free to contact the respective subject selector to inquire about getting a trial:

Having problems accessing a resource during the trial?

If you run into problems accessing a resource that is currently being trialed, feel free to send a message here.