Skip to main content

AFAM 410: Junior Seminar in Theory and Method: Home

Main search portals

This guide is intended for students in Professor Anthony Reed's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your Senior Essay Proposal and related assignments this semester.

General resources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start in building your bibliographies. These are scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and similar sources that will often contain lengthy essays with background information on a topic and overviews of the relevant scholarship. Citations to the secondary literature will always be included, and often so too will citations to primary sources.

Black Studies Center

This database combines primary and secondary sources. Main modules included here are: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (including Schomburg Essays), Journals, Newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.


Cambridge Core

Includes key reference collections such as the Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Companions.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Includes the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences and other sources useful for quick references.


Harvard Guide to African-American History

Published in 2001, a major one-volume reference work full of extensive bibliographies. Available only in print.


MLA International Bibliography

The major index for literary studies, updated several times throughout the year. Subjects covered are:
Modern literatures; Literary theory and criticism; Linguistics; Teaching of language; Film, television and theater; Rhetoric and composition; History of the book; Folklore.


Oxford African American Studies Center

This resource includes a wide range of sources, both primary and secondary, useful for research as well as teaching.


Oxford Bibliographies

This is a large collection of bibliographic “articles,” each containing numerous bibliographic annotations, often of both primary and secondary sources. The content is arranged into modules including African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Cinema and Media Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Political Science, Sociology, and several more. 


Oxford Handbooks Online

Includes The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology, The Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-PresentThe Oxford Handbook of the African American Slave Narrative, and other relevant titles with useful articles.


Wiley Online Library

Includes many encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Look for relevant titles under Communication and Media Studies, Cultural Studies, History, Literature, Race and Ethnicity Studies, Religion, and other headings. Individual books include A Companion to African American Studies and A Companion to African American History.


 

Librarian for American History

James Kessenides's picture
James Kessenides
Contact:
james.kessenides@yale.edu