Yale University Library Research Guides: African American Studies: Home

Welcome

This guide provides an overview of library resources and tools for pursuing research in African American Studies. You will find information on:

Reference works, such as the Oxford Bibliographies and Cambridge Histories

Subject databases for finding the latest journal literature

Primary source databases, both newspaper and digitized manuscript collections

How to find archival sources at Yale and beyond

Print, digital, and microform formats are all covered to provide a broader starting point for research.

Librarian for African American Studies

James Kessenides

Email Me

Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, History, History, United States

Top Resources

Links to some best bets for research in African American Studies. Be sure to check the remaining pages on this guide for more resources and suggestions.

ProQuest Black Studies
This resource brings together many reference as well as primary and secondary sources. Includes collections of Black historical newspapers, archival primary source collections such as the Papers of the NAACP, academic journals, video content, and the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.
Black Studies Periodicals Database
Formerly known as the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), this is a major periodical database on Black Studies and culture. The Black Studies Periodicals Database has the largest backfile of retrospective bibliographic citations for Black periodicals from as early as 1902. The Black Studies Periodicals Database covers journals and magazines from the United States, African nations, and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.

The Harvard Guide to African-American History by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0674002768
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Published in 2001, a major one-volume reference work full of extensive bibliographies. Available only in print.

Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities.
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics across varied subject areas. The content is arranged into modules including African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Cinema and Media Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Political Science, Sociology, and several more. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies can be browsed by subject area and searched by keyword.
ProQuest History Vault
Provides access to many digitized collections of archival materials, including the papers of the NAACP, CORE, SCLC, SNCC, Revolutionary Action Movement, League of Revolutionary Black Workers, and several other Civil Rights and Black Power Movement collections.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
A large database that includes access to approximately 50 historical newspapers including several African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and The Pittsburgh Courier.

African American Studies: Home

Welcome

Librarian for African American Studies

Top Resources

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries