Standing for "Africa" + "Reader," an online literary magazine founded in 2015 by Nancy Adimora, featuring original short stories from established and emerging writers across Africa and its diaspora.

Originally online-only, made the move to print issues beginning with no. 9. Founded in 2011. Bakwa’s approach is high-end creative writing and creative nonfiction, which is urgent and experimental in nature, while being at the same time a mirror of writing from Cameroon and Africa.

Online literary magazine for readers of African literature. Founded in 2010 by Ainehi Edoro. Includes a guide to African novels by decade.

A pan-African platform of writing, art, and politics founded by Ntone Edjabe in 2002, brings together voices from across Africa and the diaspora. Published in hard copy up to about 2017; fully online since. Published in Cape Town, South Africa.

An independent and Pan-African online literary magazine founded in 2019 by Mutaleni Nadimi and Rémy Ngamije. It publishes short fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and visual art from Namibia, Africa, and the African diaspora. Published onilne three times a year; editorial staff is based in Windhoek, Namibia.

Online and print journal founded in 2019 that publishes fiction, nonfiction, poetry and ideas. The website also provides video and audio recordings. Most of the editorial staff is based in Nairobi, Kenya.

Published biannually online and in print since 2021. Includes new literary production from Africa and the Diaspora in the form of poetry, prose (short stories and excerpts from novels), book reviews, critical pieces on art, comics, gender and politics, as well as peer-reviewed academic essays. Founded by Siphiwo Mahala.

Literary publication founded in 2020 by Ukamaka Olisakwe. Based in the United States.

A pan-African writers’ collective. First issue released in 2014. Based in Nairobi, Kenya.

Independent literary review publishing reviews, essays, poetry, photographs, and short fiction from South Africa, Africa, and beyond. Published monthly since 2017.

Online since 2012; weekly African literary magazine publishing all genres of work by African authors exploring modern Africa and Africans in unique and avant-garde ways.

A journal founded in 2003. Eight print editions issued (a title search in Orbis using "Kwani Series" will show the ones held at Yale). Each issue is an anthology containing over 300 pages of new journalism, fiction, experimental writing, poetry, cartoons, photographs, cutting-edge academic papers, ideas, literary travel writing, & creative non-fiction. The publisher, Kwani Trust, is still active as a sponsor of book festivals and awards, but the publication has ceased. Some content is available on the website, which has not been updated since early 2018. Published in Nairobi, Kenya.

Founded in 2020 by Troy Onyango. Publishes the work of Black people in Africa and around the world. Online only.

Published biannually online since 2015. Includes literature, photography, and art. Editorial staff is based in Nigeria.

An independent literary review, publishes reviews, essays, poetry, photographs and short fiction from South Africa, Africa and beyond.

The African writers series (AWS) was established in 1962 to publish works by Black African authors for general readership in newly independent African nations. It covers fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and drama. AWS features major African authors of the post-independence period, alongside new editions of classic earlier texts, political writings, and new works by authors from the 1960s to the present.

Black Drama contains plays from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore: African, African American, & Diaspora is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora, offering short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon. Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora features over 11,707 short stories and more than 81,955 pages.

Celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries; gives an unparalleled view of black women’s struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. Currently features over 14,000 pages of poetry and prose.

Classiques Garnier numerique is a collection of early French reference materials, including: dictionaries and grammars, French literature written outside France, early Christian literature, and literary criticism.

a blog that focuses on cultural production and Africa. We cover books, art, film, history, music, theatre, ideas and people and the ways they interact, through their publication and circulation, with societies, economies and space.

This guide contains citations for print and electronic resources available at Columbia University.

The Carnets de littératures africaines is a research blog published by the Association for the Study of African Literatures (APELA), international.

African writers, literary journals, literary awards and prizes, book fairs and festivals, literary associations, blogs, radio programs, publishers, discussion groups, university web sites and more.

Africa Writes festival is a celebration of contemporary literature from Africa and the diaspora, brought to you by The Royal African Society and presented in partnership the British Library.

The ASCL Africanist Blog is written by scholars and other staff members of the African Studies Centre Leiden. The ASCL Professors, members of the Collaborative Research Groups and project researchers blog about their research, fieldwork, conferences, new publications and teaching experiences. They may also share their view on a development in society from an Africanist perspective

the Association for the Study of African Literatures – is dedicated to African works in their diversity, oral or written, in French, English, Portuguese, Arabic, as well as in African languages

Blog posts updates relating to new books, library materials, events relating to African Studies.

Eyala blog explores what feminism means to African women. The site shines a light on African women championing feminist ideals, their activism, their vision, and the challenge they face. Françoise also shares her experiences as an African feminist, books that have inspired her, and other bits of feminist awesomeness.

Website provides access to literary and biographical information for female authors writing in French in sub-Saharan Africa. Archives are available dating back to 2000.

Blog of the Johannesburg Review of Books.

The LITAF bibliographic database provides comprehensive information on French-language literary production in sub-Saharan Africa.

LITTAFCAR.ORG is a network of cultural centres around the world that share the mission of promoting African and Caribbean literatures.

Blog of the Africa Books Collective.

Writing Africa explores African Literature - news and reviews from the African literary scene.