Opinion Archives is a quirky database, and it isn't always obvious or intuitive how to navigate it. To get the most out of its important variety of magazine content, here are some tips to help work around the platform's shortcomings...

1. First, the link to the database record for Opinion Archives is here. Clicking on the "Online database" link (under "Available from") will take you to the home page of the database.

2. If you run a search - say, for "Bernie Sanders" (with quotation marks) - you'll get numerous results. The first article that was retrieved when I tried the search was Matthew Continetti's "The Bernie Sanders Blackout" in Commentary magazine. I clicked on the article title, which took me to this display:

3. The display above doesn't include the full text (or an abstract) of Continetti's article, or even the date, but, depending on the magazine source, some of this information will appear on this page. For instance, The Weekly Standard will include the date of the article, and Harper's will include both the date and a summary of the article...

4. But the main thing will always be to click on the hyperlinked name of the magazine below the "Author," "Title," "Description" information, and this will take you to the full text of the article. In the following screenshot, the title of the magazine where you would click is highlighted:

5. Stay in touch and reach out to me with any questions, or if you encounter any error messages or technical issues. I'll be glad to help! I can be reached at james.kessenides@yale.edu.