This is a database of descriptions of archival collections at Yale, or what are known as archival "finding aids." The database searches the text of the finding aids, not of the documents in the collections themselves. Consult the various parts of the finding aids, such as Scope & Contents notes, inventories, etc., to assess the relevance of materials to your research project. A link to a PDF version of each finding aid is available in the top right corner of each page.

----------
Beyond Yale:

A search portal to archival finding aids from over 1000 institutions. Start here when you are seeking to discover if there are any relevant archival collections for your research beyond Yale. The "Summary View" option is a useful way to filter your search results. Researchers searching Archive Grid can learn about items from archival collections around the world, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and request copies. Open access resource/no login required.

Archive finder is a directory of materials from collections in the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. It features the collections of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) from 1959 to the present, the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS) and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). Records include descriptions of holdings, detailed indexes, phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, email and home page URLs when available.