Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, press releases, oral history transcripts, objects, and printed material documenting Yale student involvement in the 1970 May Day rally in New Haven, Connecticut and published materials related to Yale's student strike, the anti-war movement, and the Black Panthers trial in New Haven. Also included are publications related to anti-war activities nationally. The collection was assembled by Manuscripts and Archives staff from a variety of sources.

Highlighted materials for today's class session:

Accession 1971-A-004

• Box 1: Strike newspapers, press releases, statements and memoranda, Black Panther publications and related materials, Yale Daily News clippings, and Allen Ginsberg poem read during the May Day rally on the New Haven Green, circa 1969-1970.
• Box 2: Memoranda, statements and news releases, meeting notes, and related materials from student organizers, Yale president Kingman Brewster, Jr., and the New Haven Police Department; strike and other newspapers and clippings, posters, and an account by a Yale student, circa 1969-1970.
• Box 3: News releases, leaflets, statements, notes, and other materials from student and faculty groups and the Yale administration, 1970.
• Box 4: News releases, publications, statements, notes, clippings, and other materials from community groups and the New Haven Police Department; materials on Yale-New Haven relations, campus ROTC and other organizations, student strikes at other U.S. campuses, and other issues of concern to striking students, including gay liberation, right-wing organizations, birth control, labor unions, and co-education, circa 1969-1970.
• Box 5: News releases, publications, statements, notes, clippings and other materials relating to the Vietnam war, draft resistance, peace movements, ecology, U.S. politics, and the Black Panthers, circa 1969-1970.

Accession 1983-A-108

• Box 1: Transcripts of interviews of people involved in the 1970 May Day strike and rally done by P. Brooke Manville, Neal Solomon, David Winn, Joel Krieger, and John Taft, who were students in a Spring 1971 research seminar taught by Yale classics professor Donald Kagan. Taft used the interviews in his 1976 book Mayday at Yale: A Case Study in Student Radicalism. The original audiocassettes of the interviews have been digitized and are available through links in the online finding aid for the collection. Transcripts are not available for all of the audiocassette interviews. 

Accession 2003-A-080

• Box 1: Statements, news releases, publications regarding the May Day rally, the Black Panthers, and the New Haven Panther Defense Committee, circa 1969-1970.

Accession 2012-A-028

• Box 1 and Box 2: Newspapers, publications, brochures, and other primarily printed materials documenting national and New Haven anti-war, students strike, and Black Panther activities, circa 1969-1970.

Accession 2017-A-041

• Two short 16mm films documenting the May 1, 1970, rally on the New Haven green. Neither film has sound, original film is restricted, but both have been digitized and are viewable through links in the online finding aid (titles are transcribed from notes on the original film canisters): "May Day Color" and "Skywriter: Black Panthers."

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Pamphlets, brochures, typescripts, booklets, comic books, posters, cartoons, letters, memoranda, offprints, etc., documenting various aspects of social issues in America and throughout the world during the mid-twentieth century. These materials were collected or created during the period 1938-1973 by Liston C. Pope, Dean and Professor of Social Ethics at the Yale Divinity School, and his students.

Highlighted materials for today's class session:

Series I. Corporate Bodies

• Box 3, folder 5: American Independent Movement (New Haven, Connecticut), 1967-1969. See also: AIM: Bulletin of the American Independent Movement.

Series II. Topical Files

• Box 110, folder 11: Conscientious Objectors, 1941-1968.
• Box 125, folders 1-4: Vietnamese Conflict, 1965-1967.

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Audio recordings and transcripts of oral histories conducted by New Haven Oral History Project staff with New Haven, Connecticut, citizens. The New Haven Oral History Project (NHOHP) was founded in September, 2003 by Andrew Horowitz and Professor Glenda Gilmore as a special project of the Yale University History Department. 

Highlighted materials for today's class session: Note that collection originals are in digital format only. Printouts of selected interview transcripts relating to the New Haven May Day rally and Black Panther trials (1970) and the Vietnam War are being used in the class session. Interviews (WAV files) and transcripts (MS Word files) can be requested via contact information provided in the online finding aid.

New Haven May Day rally and Black Panthers

• Anthony Bialecki, interviewed November 22, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Henry "Sam" Chauncey, Jr., interviewed November 4, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Curtis Cofield, interviewed March 23, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Rev. Ed Dobihal, interviewed February 28, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Patricia Pierce, interviewed December 2, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Carl Pullen, interviewed November 30, 2006, and February 15, 2007. 
  • Link to November 30, 2006, transcript on Google Drive
  • Link to February 15, 2007, transcript on Google Drive
• Adeline Tucker, interviewed November 19, 2004. Link to transcript on Google Drive

Vietnam War

• Anthony Bialecki, interviewed November 22, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Deborah Bovilsky, interviewed February 5, 2005. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Arthur Brandenberg, interviewed October 29, 2004. Link to transcript on Google Drive
• Adeline Tucker, interviewed November 19, 2004. Link to transcript on Google Drive