Materials from the following collections were explored in today's class session.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Collection overview: Manuscripts, notebooks, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photos, and printed material relating to the research and publications of Rachel Carson, noted biologist and environmentalist who fascinated readers with three books on the wonders of the sea and awakened the American public to the dangers of pesticide misuse with a highly controversial bestseller, Silent Spring.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Collection overview: Correspondence, course materials, writings, and photographs documenting Arthur William Galston's career as a plant physiologist and a professor at Yale University. The papers highlight Galston's concern over the ecological harm done by herbicides and his efforts to end the use of Agent Orange, which was sprayed as a defoliant in Vietnam by the United States military. The papers also document Galston's visit to the People's Republic of China in 1971.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Collection overview: Writings, correspondence, printed and audiovisual materials, scrapbooks, and family and personal papers documenting the career of novelist and Yale alumnus and professor John Hersey. The collection consists of ten small donations made by Hersey between 1944 and 1967 and an acquisition of a major part of his archive in 1992. The early gifts by Hersey contain drafts and proofs for multiple works dating from the early 1940s through mid 1960s, including the successful and popular A Bell for Adano (1944), Hiroshima (1946), and The Wall (1950). The later 1992 acquisition contains additional writings, as well as correspondence and clippings files relating to writings, correspondence, scrapbooks, audiovisual material, and personal papers.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Collection overview: Averill A. Liebow, professor of pathology at Yale School of Medicine, was a member of the Joint Commission for the Investigation of the Effects of the Atomic Bomb in Japan organized by Col. Ashley W. Oughterson, on leave from Yale. Liebow spent four months in Hiroshima beginning in October 1945 and kept a diary. The collection contains photographs and documents from an exhibit on the Joint Commission and the medical effects of the bomb in Hiroshima that was prepared for the Medical Library in 1965 and then loaned for display in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1966.
Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale
Collection overview: Correspondence, memoranda, reports, notes, and writings which document the professional career of George B. Darling. The papers highlight Darling's role as head of the Division of Medicine at Yale University, 1946-1953, and as director of the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission, 1957-1972. The papers also include files from Darling's participation in Operation Crossroads as a civilian observer of the atomic testing at Bikini Atoll. There are also photographs from personal travel around the world and papers of various members of the Darling, Smith, and Shaw families.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved