It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Founded in 1899; includes over 6000 items in Arabic, Greek, Coptic, ancient Egyptian, and other languages. Search the Yale Papyrus Collection Database to view details, including images, of items in the collection.
The collection consists of sixteen Oxyrhynchus Papyri items. The most notable item (Oxy. P. 1230) relates to the New Testament text of Revelations 5,6. Other items include poetical and prose fragments, orders, contracts, receipts, letters, and a prayer.
Websites of Yale projects on the ancient Near East
(open access) The CDLI is a joint project of the University of California, Los Angeles, the University of Oxford, and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin. In addition to various chronographic, bibliographic and philological resources, it aims to house a record for all cuneiform documents in the world.
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
The Electronic Publications Initiative (EPI) includes more than 700 free electronic publications of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago, including the Chicago Assyrian Dictionary (CAD), the Demotic Dictionary (CDD) and much more.
(open access) ETANA is a multi-institutional collaborative project initiated in August 2000, as an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East.
(open access) The International Keilschriftbibliographie (KeiBi) was first published by the Pontifical Biblical Institute, Rome in the journal Orientalia in 1940 (Orientalia N.S. 9). It became an essential tool for the study, research, and teaching of Ancient Near Eastern Studies. In the KeiBi online Database, all issues already published can be searched simultaneously.
LaBaSi is an on-line cuneiform sign list that will elucidate the diachronic development of sign forms and will allow, through cumulative evidence, the identification of standard forms as well as of scribal idiosyncrasies. Furthermore, owing to the possibility of multiple cross-referencing, it will allow for the first time an investigation of the interrelation between the several developmental stages of different signs. In this way it will serve as a dynamic and flexible research tool for all on-going investigations in the field of Late Babylonian studies.
Includes the volumes 1947 to 2001 of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography, some 46,000 titles in total. From early 2009, titles will be added as they become available, after review by the editor.
Co-display of multiple digital papyrological resources in a scholarly web resource. Includes collections from Yale, Michigan, Berkeley, and other libraries; nearly 35,000 paypri in all, in Arabic, Coptic, Greek, Ancient Egyptian, and other languages.
An online dictionary of Sabaean, an ancient Arabian language. Includes translations and extensive additional material such as older translations, etymological parallels within and outside South Arabia, a catalogue of forms plus a collection of quotations in context complete with German translation. Includes complete lexical material from nearly 4000 different inscriptions, a total of over 140,000 different lexemes.
The Theban Mapping Project (TMP) began work in 1979 with the goal of comprehensively mapping the Theban Necropolis, starting with the Valley of the Kings, and making detailed plans of its archaeological remains. It is the first project of its kind to work in Egypt.
Collection of ancient texts concentrating on late period Egypt and the Nile valley around 800 BC-800 AD allowing for cross-cultural and cross-linguistic research searchable by author, language, word, etc. Includes a database of personal names of non-royals appearing in ancient texts, including all languages and scripts and written on any surface.
Includes the Ancient World Digital Library Book Viewer, the Ancient World Online (AWOL), the Ancient World Image Bank, and other useful resources.
Yale Initiative for the Study of Antiquity and the Premodern World (YISAP)
YISAP is a collaborative forum that brings together one of the largest groups of scholars in the world working on early civilizations. Scholars in the Humanities and Social Sciences join with those working in the Yale Divinity School, the Yale Law School, the collections and the university libraries. While admiring and encouraging traditional modes of work and traditional fields of scholarship, we build a new inter- and multi-disciplinary framework that redefines old disciplinary boundaries.
"Archaia" is a collaborative forum that brings together one of the largest groups of scholars in the world working on early civilizations. Scholars in the Humanities and Social Sciences join with those working in the Yale Divinity School, the Yale Law School, the collections and the university libraries. While admiring and encouraging traditional modes of work and traditional fields of scholarship, we build a new inter- and multi-disciplinary framework that redefines old disciplinary boundaries.