A Companion to the History of the Middle East by
A fresh account of the multifaceted and multi-layered history of the Middle East. Comprises 26 newly-commissioned essays by leading international scholars Primarily focused on the modern and contemporary periods Covers religious, social, cultural, economic, political and military history Treats the region as four differentiated political units - Iran, Turkey, Israel and the Arab world Includes a section on current issues, such as oil, urban growth, the role of women, and democratic human rights
A Concise History of the Middle East by
A Concise History of the Middle East provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of this turbulent region. Spanning from pre-Islam to the present day, it explores the evolution of Islamic institutions and culture, the influence of the West, modernization efforts in the Middle East, the struggle of various peoples for political independence, the Arab-Israel conflict, the reassertion of Islamic values and power, the issues surrounding the Palestinian Question, and the Middle East post-9/11 and post-Arab uprisings. The twelfth edition has been fully revised to reflect the most recent events in, and concerns of, the region, including the presence of ISIS and other non-state actors, the civil wars in Syria and Yemen, and the refugee crisis. New parts and part timelines will help students grasp and contextualize the long and complicated history of the region. With updated biographical sketches and glossary, and a new concluding chapter, this book remains the quintessential text for students of Middle East history.
A History of the Arab Peoples by
The definitive history of the Arab peoples from the seventh century to the present day. It is a masterly distillation of a lifetime of scholarship that provides a unique insight into the history of the region.This updated edition adds a substantial new chapter covering events since the 1990s. A new biographical preface shows how Hourani's perspectives on Arab history were shaped by his unique background as an English-born Arab Christian with roots in the Levant.
A History of the Modern Middle East by
Examines the profound and often dramatic transformations of the region in the past two centuries, from the Ottoman and Egyptian reforms, through the challenge of Western imperialism, to the impact of US foreign policies. Built around a framework of political history, while also carefully integrating social, cultural, and economic developments, this expertly crafted account provides readers with the most comprehensive, balanced and penetrating analysis of the modern Middle East. The sixth edition has been revised to provide a thorough account of the major developments since 2012, including the tumultuous aftermath of the Arab uprisings, the sectarian conflict in Iraq and civil war in Syria that led to the rise of ISIS, the crises in Libya and Yemen, and the United States' nuclear talks with Iran. With brand-new timelines in each part, updated select bibliographies, and expanded online instructor resources,A History of the Modern Middle East remains the quintessential text for courses on Middle East history.
The Modern Middle East by
Extensively revised and updated in the wake of the Arab uprisings, the changes that they fostered, and the fault lines that they exposed, the fourth edition of The Modern Middle East explores how the forces associated with global modernity have shaped the social, economic, cultural, andpolitical life in the region over the course of the past 500 years. Beginning in the sixteenth century, this book examines the impact of imperial and imperialist legacies, the great nineteenth-century transformation, cultural continuities and upheavals, international diplomacy, economic booms andbusts, and the emergence of and resistance to authoritarian regimes. Engagingly written, drawing from the author's own research and other studies, and enriched with maps and photographs, original documents, and an abundance of supplementary materials, this text provides students with fresh insightsinto the events and debates that have shaped history and absorbed historians.
The Modern Middle East and North Africa by
Utilizing a mix of documents - including photographs, posters, diaries, diplomatic records, archival sources, and literary works - The Modern Middle East and North Africa: A History in Documents is structured around an underlying theme of unity in diversity. This theme helps to offset students' stereotypical image of the Middle East and North Africa as an undifferentiated, monolithic, and unchanging part of the world inhabited mainly by terrorists and religious fanatics.Compiled and edited by two prominent historians, Julia Clancy-Smith and Charles Smith, the book's approach offers a compromise between conventional political and diplomatic histories and those focusing on social and cultural history. The authors demonstrate how the Middle East and North Africa haveparticipated in and shaped the grand currents of global history during the past two centuries. Headnotes, extended captions, sidebars, introductory essays, and a robust photo program (including a documentary picture essay devoted to women and gender) provide an essential context framing thedocuments.
Sources in the History of the Modern Middle East by
This unique primary source reader provides first-hand accounts of the events described in Middle Eastern history survey books. The book is organized into ten chapters featuring chapter introductions and headnotes. The primary source documents cover the late 18th century through the beginning of the 21st, exploring political, social, economic, and cultural history and infusing the volume with the voices of real people.
Welcome to the Near East Collection Guide. In this guide, you'll find:
Search in Quicksearch, Orbis, or WorldCat for materials in Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish by using the American Library Association/Library of Congress rules for transliteration:
The principal databases useful to researchers in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies are:
Yale subject librarians have prepared many other guides potentially of value to researchers in topics relating to the Middle East and Islam, including:
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved