Skip to main content

Harvey M. Applebaum Award: Home

Applebaum Award

Award Submission Deadline: TBA

 

Senior essays submitted for consideration for the Applebaum Award must be based in some part on research material within one of the following collections in Yale University Library's government documents collections:

About Harvey M. Applebaum

Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, is a senior counsel, specializing in international trade and antitrust law, with the Washington firm of Covington & Burling LLP and a lecturer at the University of Virginia School of Law. He is a past Chairman of the Association of Yale Alumni and the Yale Alumni Magazine board.

 

About the Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award

The Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award is conferred on a Yale College senior for an outstanding essay based on research done in the Yale University Library's government documents collections. The prize is an award of $500.

The prize was established by the daughters of Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, in honor of his 70th birthday. The inaugural award was conferred in 2008; past winners are listed here.

Guidelines

Senior essays submitted for consideration for the Applebaum Award must be based in some part on research material within one of the following collections in Yale University Library's government documents collections:

These rich collections support research in a wide range of subjects, including international relations, public policy, economics, trade, agriculture, environmental studies, public health, and much more. Research material may be held within Yale's government information collections or may be available in digital format. Questions about whether particular research resources fall within the eligibility criteria should be directed to Kenya Flash, Government Information librarian at the Center for Science and Social Science Information. 

Senior essayists will also need to submit a statement on the use of any of these collections in their essay. Statements to consider in writing this statement include "the resource I used is central to my argument because...," "the variety of government documents used in my paper allowed me to...", and "this document best demonstrates the thinking of..."

Submissions

Essays may be submitted by seniors or their faculty advisors.The winning student must agree to grant the library a non-exclusive right to post their essay on EliScholar. To submit, you must sign in using your Yale netid here.

 

Librarian for Political Science. Global Affairs, and Government Information

Kenya Flash's picture
Kenya Flash