It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale'sArts Library, linking Rudolph Hall and the Loria Center at 180 and 190 York Street, serves as the primary collection for the study of art, architecture, and drama at Yale. The Arts Library contains approximately 150,000 onsite volumes including important reference works, monographs, exhibition catalogs, and print periodicals, as well as digital resources, including online periodicals, article indexes, and databases. Arts Library Special Collections features artists' books and volumes on the book arts, fine printing, typography, and illustration, as well as archival materials and thesis projects from the Schools of Art, Architecture, and Drama. An additional 300,000+ volumes are stored in the offsite Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library via Eli Express.
Today's Arts Library Hours
What is in this guide?
Welcome to the Art Practice Research Subject Guide. In this guide, you'll learn how to:
get started using library resources for your art practice
find articles, books, image collections and resources on art
properly cite the sources you find and use in papers and projects
deal with copyright and fair use
How I can help you. In my role as library liaison to the School of Art, I am available to assist students, faculty, and other researchers with their studio practice research.
Please contact me if you have suggestions for new books, journals/magazines, or databases that we could add to the collection, or if you would like to set up an individual research consultation session or a research skills instruction session for a course.
- Tess Colwell, Arts Librarian for Research Services
Includes Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art & Architecture Complete. Developed from a merger of databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including more than 70 additional full-text journals that were not previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Provides visual-arts professionals with a set of principles addressing best practices in the fair use of copyrighted materials. It describes how fair use can be invoked and implemented when using copyrighted materials in scholarship, teaching, museums, archives, and in the creation of art.