A primary source is a document that provides firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic or question under investigation. A primary source can come in many forms, including but not limited to: maps, drawings, photographs, prints, posters, diaries, newspapers, government documents, correspondence, objects and artifacts, and audio visual materials like film and oral histories. 

• First, register as a special collections user: https://guides.library.yale.edu/specialcollections/speccoll-register. 
• Navigate to the Archives @ Yale database.
  • Archives @ Yale searches across all special collections repositories at Yale, not just MSSA.
  • You are able to search by keyword, title, creator, subject, or call number.
• Once you have an idea of what you want to search for, type in your first search term. The results will be like a Google search results page, with the most relevant results at the top. Collection level results will appear first, followed by more granular results.
  • For example, if I want to search for information on Frederick Law Olmsted, I could start by searching that name. The results page looks like the image below, with a collection-level result first, and then a folder-level result later on:

• Let's say I'm interesting in finding out more about the George Dudley Seymour papers. When I click on that result, I'll be brought to the finding aid. A finding aid is a catalog record for an entire archival collection, describing all of the boxes within a single collection at a high-level.
  • On the left you'll see a Scope and Contents note, which describes the contents of a collection in a narrative format.
  • Further down the page is a Biographical/historical note, which provides information on the creator and/or subject of the collection.
  • On the right is the box and folder listing of the collection. Most collections are arranged by series. A series is an intellectual arrangement of the materials so that they are more easily accessible to researchers. Often series are based on subject mater or record type.
  • Click the + symbol to expand the listing.
• Once you find a box or folder that you want to view in the reading room, click the link to the lowest level of description. That is often the folder or box title. When you do that, a Request button will appear on the upper right corner:
• 
• The request button will prompt you to log in with your NetID. You'll be brought to a request page. Since most materials are held off-site, we ask that you request materials at least 48 hours in advance. Select your date and hit the "Submit Request" button.
• No appointment is necessary for visiting the Reading Room. Hours are listed on the MSSA homepage.