Yale University Library Research Guides: Evidence Based Practice: Quality Improvement & Patient Safety in Healthcare

Quality Improvement and Implementation Science

PubMed Search: Click this link to run a search in PubMed on Quality Improvement and Implementation Science journals > then add your topic

Note: this search includes the following journals: American Journal of Medical Quality, BMJ Quality & Safety, BMJ Quality Improvement Reports, Implementation Science, Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety, Journal for Healthcare Quality

Health Policy, Research, and Management

PubMed Search: "BMJ Qual Saf"[Journal] OR "Health Care Manage Rev"[Journal] OR "Healthc (Amst)"[Journal] OR "Int J Qual Health Care"[Journal] OR "J Eval Clin Pract"[Journal] OR "Med Decis Making"[Journal] OR "Milbank Q"[Journal] OR "Qual Manag Health Care"[Journal] OR "J Healthc Risk Manag"[Journal]

This search includes the following journals: BMC Family Practice, Health Affairs, Health Care Management Review, Health Care: The Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation, Health Services Research, International Journal for Quality in Health Care, Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice, Medical Decision Making, The Milbank Quarterly, Quality Management in Health Care, Journal of Healthcare Risk Management

Databases

CINAHL
Contains resource in the field of nursing & allied health.
Cochrane library
Use this tool to quickly find clinical trials and cochrance systematic reviews.
Embase
Embase covers all disciplines of medicine, biomedical science, and allied health subjects.
more...less...
Use more filters to limit to evidence-based medicine or consensus development or meta-analysis or outcomes research or "systematic review"
Healthcare Administration Database
Covers journals, doctoral dissertations, and theses on these health administration topics: hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, public health administration. Includes abstracts, indexes, full text, and images.
PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching.
TRIP Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Ovid search for high quality study types

Ovid MEDLINE study type search

Limit # to (clinical study or clinical trial, all or clinical trial, phase i or clinical trial, phase ii or clinical trial, phase iii or clinical trial, phase iv or clinical trial or guideline or practice guideline or pragmatic clinical trial or randomized controlled trial or meta analysis or "systematic review")

Note: clinical trial, all brings in any type of trial.

Embase (Ovid) Study type search

Limit # to (evidence based medicine or consensus development or meta analysis or outcomes research or "systematic review" or clinical trial or randomized controlled trial or controlled clinical trial or multicenter study or phase 1 clinical trial or phase 2 clinical trial or phase 3 clinical trial or phase 4 clinical trial)

remove (conference abstracts or medline or "preprints (unpublished, non-peer reviewed)")