Below is a selection of heavily-used databases of research literature. One of them (Articles+) covers almost any subject you can think of, and includes a good mix of scholarly and popular literature. Two others (Scopus, Hein Online) focus on specific subjects (science, and law and legal history respectively), and the fourth (Factiva) on a particular format (current news coverage). They are often good places to begin looking for sources, especially if you are not sure where to start, or if a research topic is interdisciplinary in nature. You can get to these databases via the links below, but they are also listed on the Yale Library website (under Databases, listed alphabetically). 

The Yale Library makes these and other databases available to current members of the Yale community (students, faculty and staff), and as such they require a valid Yale NetID to use. If you have a valid Yale NetID and are unable to connect, please contact Ask Yale Library.

1) Articles+. A large database of journal literature, newspaper articles, book chapters, dissertations and other types of content on both scholarly and popular topics. If you're not sure about where to begin, this is a good choice.

2) Scopus. A multidisciplinary database covering science, engineering, technology and medicine. Everything in Scopus is "scholarly," (i.e. has undergone peer review before publication).

3) Hein Online. A large database of legal materials, including journals and law reviews, as well as government information.

4) Factiva. Factiva includes nearly 8,000 news sources from 118 countries, in 22 languages. It also includes 120 continuously updated newswires, for up-to-the-moment news coverage from around the world. This material has not undergone peer review before publication, but is still considered high-quality information about current/recent events.

5) Web of Science. A database of scientific articles, reviews, book chapters, and other resources. The number of citations and references are featured for every result and link back to the sources that cited and referenced the result. There are options to search for keywords and specific researchers in a field of science.