Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Image Resources: The Americas

Yale University's Arts Library Digital Services guide to digital image resources.

The Americas Image Resources

Resources marked with this symbol    indicate that ithe resource is only accessible either on campus or via VPN (Virtual Private Network) if you are off campus. All active Yale NetIDs are automatically authorized to use the VPN service.  Read more about VPN here.

 

Yale Visual Resources Collection 

The Yale Visual Resources Collection contains many images from the Ancient Americas. Search on the term "pre-columbian" to browse over 6,000 images.

 

ARTstor 

Among other resources for the Americas, ARTstor has the Ferguson/Royce Archive consists of approximately 5,200 negatives, created by William Ferguson and John Q. Royce and depicting views of Mesoamerican and Southwest United States sites.

 

Mountain West Digital Library

The Mountain West Digital Library is a central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region. We provide free access to over 690,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, and other parts of the U.S. West. 

 

Mapas Project (University of Oregon)

The Mapas Project focuses on  the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

 

Maya Vase and Precolumbian Portfolio

A digital image collection of vases, plates and bowls of various Mesoamerica cultures and a digital image collection of artifacts from the Ancient Americas.  All photography by Justin Kerr.

 

National Museum of the American Indian

Online access to a portion of the museum's object and historic photo collections.

 

Buffalo Bill Historical Center Digital Collection

View the digital image collections of the Plains Indian Museum, Whitney Gallery of Western Art, and Cody Firearms Museum.