Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Image Resources: Maps

Yale University's Arts Library Digital Services guide to digital image resources.

Maps Image Resources

Apart from the Yale University Library Map Collection listed below, some of Yale's other digital collections contain maps, which you can search for using the Yale University Library Cross Collection Search.The collections below are freely available web resources.

 

Yale University Library Maps Online

The Yale University Library Map Collection is located on the 7th floor of Sterling Memorial Library and has made some of their collection available online. 

 

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

This collection contains over 20,000 maps available online and focuses on 18th and 19th century rare North and South American maps. There are also historic maps of the World, Africa, Asia, and Europe.

 

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin

This is a general collection of over 250,000 maps from around the world.  Currently about 11,000 are available online.

 

Library of Congress Map Collections 

Containing only a fraction of what the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division holds, this digital library of maps focuses on cartographic treasures and Americana.

 

 

Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia 

Over 800 historic maps from the 16th through 20th centuries.

 

Institute of Museum and Library Services Digital Collections 

This link brings you to a Browse by Object view for the IMLS funded digital collection projects.  Under Image, you will find a link for Maps which lists more than 20 digital collections containing historical maps.

 

James Ford Bell Collection at the University of Minnesota 

The Bell collection focuses on international trade from 400 CE to 1825 CE and contains many historical maps in addition to pamphlets, manuscripts, and broadsides.

 

World Fact Book

"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people,government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."

 

Features

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress.



The David Rumsey Collection contains over 20,000 maps available online and focuses on 18th and 19th century rare North and South American maps. There are also historic maps of the World, Africa, Asia, and Europe.