It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Large database that includes public papers of the Presidents, State of the Union Addresses & Messages, Inaugural Addresses, Weekly Addresses. It also contains documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates
The Digital National Security Archive contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents from the postwar period. The resource now includes 33 collections consisting of more than 500,000 total pages. Collections cover U.S. policy around the globe, with especially strong holding for Central America, the Middle East, Europe, and South America.
Links to millions of US patents and patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, dating back to the eighteenth century and including patents as recent as the last few months. The google interface makes this rich collection readily searchable.
Contains legal treatises published from 1800-1926, from the Nineteenth-Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth-Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Includes more than 21,000 works on U.S. and British Commonwealth law.
The Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1895-1976, cataloged all publications of the United States federal government, including those of the Congress and all executive departments (with the exception of administrative and confidential or restricted documents).
Provides users with efficient, targeted access to the most comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information available anywhere online. This collection includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials to enable both novice and experienced researchers to complete many types of research projects using a single interface.
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers.
Consists of correspondence and reports from American diplomats stationed in Japan; Cuba; El Salvador; Honduras; Nicaragua; Iran; Iraq; Beirut; Jerusalem; Aden; Lebanon; Russia and the Soviet Union. Diplomatic post records are those kept at the embassies or legations contain incoming messages from Washington, outgoing dispatches, locally gathered information, and background material on decision-making.
Images of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Contains several modules of literary material: Black Short Fiction and Folklore; Black Women Writers; Caribbean Literature; Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period; Latin American Women Writers; Latino Literature; Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period; South and Southeast Asian Literature.
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.
This database provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognized ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
A database of primary source material providing a strong basis for research in areas such as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood. There is material relating to: Political and Social Issues, Race, Religion, Family, Popular Fiction & Sensational Literature, Children's Prescriptive Literature, Fashion and beauty, Cookery, medicine, and education.
Based on collections at the Library of Congress, this Yale-produced Web site allows users to interact with nearly 160,000 photographs produced by the Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI) from 1935 to 1943. Includes work by photographers like Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Ben Shahn, and Gordon Parks.
These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s. The collection represents a wide range of products such as cough and cold remedies, laxatives and indigestion aids, and vitamins and tonics, among others. In addition to the advertisements themselves, the MMA website includes historical material — non-graphical text-only documents — that put health-related advertising into a broader perspective.
By focussing on substantial collections of original archival material - manuscript, typescript and ephemera, from key libraries in Britain and America, Rock and Roll provides the primary sources that will enable students and scholars to examine key issues and events of the period
This database provides complete access to handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations in the twentieth century.
More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts from the University of Wisconsin. Includes official records of organizations such as SNCC and CORE; the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, and press releases.
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is an extensive archive of television news. Since 1968, the Archive has recorded, indexed, and preserved network television news for research, review, and study. Only CNN and NBC clips can be viewed, but items from other networks are indexed and clips can be requested for borrowing from Vanderbilt.
The database includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards.
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organizations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from more than 210 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
Ethnic, minority, and native press content from 1959-1989. The other side of the story is presented on local, national, and international events that changed the course of history across three turbulent decades, the 60s, 70s and 80s. Pivotal events in these decades are covered - the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law, trickledown economics, and the status of migrant workers.
Since 1850, Harper's Magazine has been one of the leading periodicals of culture and opinion. This digital archive makes every issue of Harper's monthly allows users to browse individual issues or search the database by keyword.
Searchable full-text database of all the pages of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912 with scanned images, together with a series of indexes. The subject index provides information on domestic and foreign news, editorials, and people.
Covers independent periodicals from the 1960s-80s. Currently includes newspapers and newsletters covering LGBT, radical campus, feminist, GI issues. Will include Native American, African American, Hispanic American, and right wing material in the near future.
Originally socialist oriented, it became a liberal anti-communist publication. It ceased print publication following the January/April 2006 double issue. A bimonthly online version was published from January/February 2007 to May/June/July/August 2010.
The iconic popular culture a political bi-monthly, which is often associated with the coverage of music. Access to the archive is provided directly through the Rolling Stone site since Yale is a subscriber to the print version.
Women’s Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
Archive will contain 40,000 hours of programs selected by more than 100 public broadcasting stations throughout the nation. Dating from the 1950s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation. Records now exist, but audio and video will begin to be uploaded in October 2015.
The Citizens’ Council was a pro-segregationist newspaper published in Mississippi between October 1955 and September 1961. It was intended to spread a pro-segregationist message throughout the southern states.
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.
Contains documents referenced in the endnotes of Known and Unknown, Donald Rumsfeld's memoir. It also contains other documents from his archive. These selected documents are of particular historical interest, according to the web site.
Digital copies of significant documents and photographs from the archives of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library & Museum. FRANKLIN launches with 350,000 pages of archival documents and 2,000 historical photographs, along with many detailed descriptions of archival collections not yet digitized. FRANKLIN launches with two of the major collections of FDR’s Papers as President, along with selected Eleanor Roosevelt correspondence and several smaller batches of in-demand archival materials have been digitized. The Roosevelt Library has an ongoing and ambitious digitization program and will post additional historical materials to Franklin on an ongoing basis.
More than 110 hours of interviews from Blackside Inc.'s seven-part documentary series, which debuted in 1993, were digitized for the collection that includes fully searchable transcripts of 148 interviews and accompanying video.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
This database consists of over 2,100 images of posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Some are from the first half of the 20th century, but the majority are from the 1960s and later.
Fred Wright was an American labor cartoonist and activist. From 1939 until his death in 1984, Wright created thousands of cartoons reflecting the politics and labor issues, which were featured in newspapers, union publications, and overseas union activism. This Web site focuses specifically on the series of 177 "Labor History" cartoons created by Wright. This series was featured in the UE News from 1956-1961 and again in the 1970s.
This collection from Columbia University consists of over 9,200 advertising brochures, floor plans, price lists, and related materials that document residential and commercial real estate development in the five boroughs of New York and outlying vicinities from the 1920s to the 1970s.
First broadcast in May, 1956 and now hosted by Alexander Heffner, The Open Mind is a thoughtful excursion into the world of ideas. Designed to elicit insights into contemporary areas of national concern, Open Mind explores challenges of the digital age, American politics and other emerging issues.
Provides visitors with an intriguing interactive experience about the urban soundscape and human responses to industrial, human, and transportation noise from January to June 1930. Supporting features such as complaints, documents, official responses, articles from the New York Times, newsreels, laws and Noise Abatement Commission (NYC) responses provide context to the historic view of the soundscape.