It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War offers a broad reassessment of the cold war period based on new conceptual frameworks developed in the field of international history. The cold war emerges as a distinct period in twentieth-century history, yet one that should be evaluated within the broader context of global political, economic, social, and cultural developments.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 includes over 100,000 scanned pages of diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary from the period.
Over 100 digital archives from multiple repositories. This link will take you to a page where you can browse these collections. Below you will find three collections that are especially relevant for this class.
This database provides complete access to handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations in the twentieth century.
Originally microfilmed as JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, this collection provides insights into President Kennedy’s views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are more than just documents on the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba. There are documents that highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race.
Primary source documents covering women's social movements from 1600 to 2000. This collection documents the multiplicity of reform activities with thousands of pages of books, images, and documents as well as introductory material, scholarly essays, a chronology, a bibliography, lesson plans, and other teaching tools.