Use one of the catalogs below to locate books relevant to your field

• Orbis - catalog of Yale University Library's collection *except* for the Law Library
• Morris - catalog of the Yale University Law Library
• WorldCat - catalog of more than 50 million holdings from libraries around the world

Encyclopedias and dictionaries can be good starting points for your research. Frequently, encyclopedias provide summaries of topics along with valuable bibliographies to lead you in the direction of more reading on your subject.

A Concise Companion to Feminist Theory via Blackwell Reference Online

A Companion to Gender Studies via Blackwell Reference Online

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - SML, Starr Reading Room, HQ1115.E54X 2009

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in World's Cultures

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender  via Credo Reference

Pornography and Sexual Representation - SML Stacks, Z7164 P84 S56 2001, v. 1-3

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge

Women's Studies Encyclopedia 

When searching Orbis you can search by keyword or subject heading. Subject headings offer you a controlled vocabulary for searching the online catalog. The subject headings allow you to more quickly and easily identify books that are most relevent to what you are searching. The challenge is locating the appropriate and relevent subject headings for your topics.

To search by subject using the term, women, you will still get hundreds of results. Try narrowing your subject terms more by clicking on the "More Info" button next to the subject heading women or browsing the subject terms. Talking to a librarian will help you identify appropriate subject terms quickly.