Yale University Library Research Guides: Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Research Guide: Essential Resources

Locating Articles

Journal articles can be found in a variety of places at Yale. One of the easiest ways is to use one of the library's many databases that is specific to the field of women's and gender studies (see box below). Some databases have links to the full text of the journal article online.

Other databases just have citations and you then have to locate the full text of the journal article using our list of online journals and newspapers or Orbis.

To identify journals try searching Orbis using one of the following subject headings:

Feminist theory -- Periodicals

Women -- Periodicals

Lesbians -- Periodicals

Feminism -- Periodicals

Womens studies -- Periodicals

Searching for Articles in Databases

One place to find journal articles is to search in one of the library's many databases. Some of the databases provide you with a link to the full-text of the article. To locate others that are not full text, try one of these options:

In the database click on the Yale Links icon (show below)

This will take you to another window which identifies other databases that have full-text of your article. However your article may only be available in print so always check Orbis. If Yale doesn't have access to it, you can always request it through InterLibrary Loan.

GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject including business, education, the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and pop culture. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, government and NGO publications. 1978 - present
Women & Social Movements in the US: 1600-2000
Primary source documents covering women's social movements from 1600 to 2000. This collection documents the multiplicity of reform activities with thousands of pages of books, images, and documents as well as introductory material, scholarly essays, a chronology, a bibliography, lesson plans, and other teaching tools.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full-text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are easily accessed
Gender & Land Rights Database
This database compiles information provided by the Food & Agriculture Division of the United Nations. The database contains country level information on social, economic, political and cultural issues related to the gender inequalities embedded in those rights.
Defining gender, 1450-1910