It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
Additional information about each collection is available in the catalog record in ORBIS, the Yale University Library online public catalog, and/or a finding aid.
(Finding aids are more detailed than the annotations in this guide.
They provide context for the materials described as well as a contents
list, usually to the box and folder level and sometimes to the item
level.) Click on the highlighted titles to access the finding aid.
This page list all the collections in this guide. If you want to browse by subject, click the appropriate tab above.
Manuscripts, photographs, and clippings concerning Chinese students sent to the United States to be educated. Most of the materials relate to T’ang Shao-yi, first premier of the Chinese republic in 1912, and Liang Ju-hao, Chinese foreign minister.
From Richard Cary Morse’s 1854 trip to China, his letters and “Journal Extracts,” February 22, 1854-February 10, 1855, and letters and “Journal of a voyage to China in the N. B. Palmer,” August 2, 1856-April 12, 1857, by his son, Sidney Edwards Morse. Sidney’s trip occurred following his Yale graduation in 1856; he visited Canton and Hong Kong and was detained in the latter by disturbances among the Chinese.
Journals, notes, and essays of a naval surgeon who made two trips to China between 1831-1833 and 1845-1848. Papers document the first diplomatic envoy to Cochin China, Siam, and Muscat, while the second voyage sailed to Canton to exchange treaties with China.
Letters from a missionary teacher at St. Hilda’s School and Boone School in Hankow and Wuchang that describe the educational and social life during political and economic turmoil during the periods 1940-1942 and 1945-1950.
Correspondence, writings, notes, and other papers documenting the personal life and professional career of Sir Joseph Banks, a British naturalist and explorer, who served on a scientific expedition to Newfoundland and Labrador (1766) and with Captain Cook's expedition to observe the transit of Venus in the Pacific Ocean. Includes documentation on foreign relations between China and Great Britain.
Bullitt (1891-1967, Yale 1912), America's first ambassador to the Soviet Union from 1933 to 1936, wrote about the dangers of communism following World War II. He developed especially close ties to Taiwan, including a friendship with Generalissimo and Madame Chiang Kai-shek. At the request of the Joint Congressional Committee on Foreign Economic Cooperation in 1948, he served as a consultant on a report on the
Economic Cooperation Agency and American aid to China. His files for this committee include primarily research materials. There are also files on China from Bullitt's appointment to the American Commission to Negotiate the Peace (Paris Peace Conference, 1919).
Papers of the politician and adviser to President Woodrow Wilson during the Paris Peace Conference following World War I. Materials on China include diaries, correspondence, and subject files on topics such as Japanese aggression in China and the Shantung Question and Settlement, April-May 1919.
Correspondence, organizational records, reports containing historical and statistical material, maps, and other papers of The Inquiry, a group of experts assembled at the request of President Wilson to collect and collate data in preparation for a peace conference following World War I.
From 1893 to 1936 he was employed by the Chinese Legation in Washington, DC, as an interpreter, first secretary, adviser, and chargé d’affaires ad interim until his retirement, and then general adviser to the Chinese Embassy from 1936 to 1943. He was also a reporter for the New York Herald, 1893-1897.
Papers of an American foreign service officer including reports on Chinese economic and political conditions, memoranda on Nanking and the Nationalist takeover in 1927; an account of the U.S.S. Panay incident in 1937, to which he was an eyewitness; a record of his internment in Nanking by the Japanese in 1942, and articles and letters on his escape from China in 1949.
Foreign policy adviser to Colonel Edward M. House and President Woodrow Wilson. Correspondence and subject files relating to the Far East, with particular emphasis on the Shantung Question; Japanese aggression in China; Reinsch-Polk correspondence on the Special Mission, 1918-1919; loan to China, 1916-1917; and missionaries in China, 1919.
Papers of a diplomat, statesman and cabinet officer Secretary of War under Taft, Roosevelt, and Truman and Secretary of State under Hoover). Documentation on China for the periods 1929-1932 and 1940-1950 concerning its disputes with Russia over rights in North Manchuria, 1929; the Manchurian Crisis of 1931-1932; Stimson’s insistence on the maintenance of China’s independence and territorial integrity; and the China-Burma-India theatre and General Joseph W. Stilwell.
Of particular significance are background materials, correspondence, position papers, and handwritten meeting notes relating to diplomatic relations with China. Relatively little of the materials about China date to Vance’s time as Secretary of State in the Carter administration. Instead, consideration of economic initiatives and new business relations with Southeast Asia, along with the investigation of relevant legal issues, are documented in the China and Shanghai Conferences, 1984-1985, for which Vance represented his law firm Simpson, Thacher & Bartlett.
The papers consist of correspondence and documents related to Frederick Townsend Ward's role as commanding officer of the "Ever Victorious Army" which helped crush the Taiping Rebellion in China (1850-1864).
Family papers of a missionary, diplomat, and Sinologue who spent almost forty years in China. At a missionary press in Macao, he translated Chinese texts and compiled A Syllabic Dictionary of the Chinese Language. He also wrote The Middle kingdom; a survey of the ... Chinese empire and its inhabitants ... in 1848 which he and his son Frederick Wells (1857-1928) revised in 1883. From 1856 to 1876 Samuel Wells was the secretary and interpreter to the American legation in China. He also accompanied Commodore Matthew C. Perry in 1853 and 1854 to negotiate trade relations between Japan and the western world. In 1876 he moved to Yale College where he was appointed the first professor of Chinese language and literature in the United States. Frederick Wells (Yale 1879) taught Central Asian, Indian, and East Asian history at Yale from 1893 to 1925.
The papers include letters between Lyman and her mother; photograph albums, scrapbooks of clippings, and two videotapes, depicting the daily life of the Chinese, political and military events, and staff at Peking Union Medical College Hospital in the 1930s. Lyman and her husband, Richard, a neuropsychiatrist, left China after the Japanese invaded in 1937.
The papers consist of correspondence, writings, legal and financial documents, and other papers of six generations of Bidwell family members. Principal figures include Barnabas Bidwell (1763-1833), lawyer and politician in Massachusetts and Kingston, Ontario; and his son, Marshall Spring Bidwell (1799-1872), lawyer and politician in Kingston and New York City. Includes documentation on American missions in China.
Letters of William Allen Macy (1825-1859), Chinese missionary, to his Yale classmate, William Henry Goodrich. Letters describe Macy’s work as director of the Morrison Education Society’s School for Chinese Youth in Hong Kong, 1848-1849, and his return visit in 1856 to prepare for mission work in northern China.
Papers of a missionary of the American Board in China, 1885-1925, including diaries and account books of his service in Foochow and various parts of Fukien Province where he was an administrator in schools, hospitals, and missions.
Papers of an apostolic visitor on behalf of Pope Clement XI who spoke out against the traditional Chinese rites in honor of Confucius. A manuscript and 28 letters in Italian, French, Latin, Spanish, and Portuguese regarding Catholic missionary work in China and Macao, including letters from Clement XI and to Cardinal Maillard, papal nuncio to China, and to the Patriarch of Antioch, 1705-1713.
Papers of a Yale-educated architect whose major professional work included several projects in China such as Yale-in-China, Changsha, China, 1913-1923, and Yenching University, Peking, China, 1918-1932. He also wrote and lectured on Chinese architecture.
The material consists of photographs and slides, correspondence, diaries, maps, banners, Chinese language documents, memoirs, scrolls, and ephemera documenting activities and experiences from the Yale-China program.
Papers of an educational missionary at Boone College, Wuchang, who organized the Metric Association of China in 1910, and who studied provincial weights and measures and standardized them on metric standards for the Chinese government.
Records documenting the founding and operations of the Yale Foreign Missionary Society and its successors, including the present day Yale-China Association. Included are administrative records, photographs, movies, and printed materials.
Papers of a Yale educated (M.A., 1948) Chinese woman who, with her husband, Zhang Ifan (L.D.S., 1948) were victims of anti-rightist movements in China. Zhu has worked with and befriended many of the English Language Instructors (ELIs) in the Yale-China Association program since ties were re-established between Yale and Hunan Medical University in 1979. Papers are in Chinese and English.
Mainly family correspondence between William H. Bennett, his wife, and father containing news of Hampton, Conn., student life at Yale College (ca. 1860s), and family news from the Bennetts in the Mid-West. There are also photographs and essays on the New York Produce Exchange, as well as photographs of tea cultivation in India and China and of a survey party at the Nicaragua canal.
Correspondence between Reuben L. and Marcionella V. Curtiss during World War II when each was serving in the United States Army make up the bulk of the papers. Reuben L. Curtiss's letters are sent from various parts of the United States, Africa, India, and China.
Documenting China are forty-eight views of “The Siege of Peking,” 1900, by C. A. Killie; seven lantern slides of the Siege of Peking, Taku and Tientsin; and view of the interior of the Temple of Heaven, Beijing, by T. V. Soong.
Miscellaneous publications with coverage on China including the following subjects: antiquities, description and travel, economic conditions and policy, foreign relations, history, industry, and politics and government.
Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia document Rockwood's service as a teacher for Yale-in-China at Yuanling, Hunan Province as well as life in wartime China, his struggle with poliomyelities in 1940, and his service with the U.S. Office of War Information in rural areas of India, Burma, and China, 1944-1945.
Correspondence documents Rogers's academic appointments, research, participation in formulating economic policies for the New Deal, his post as American representative to the Economic Committee of the League of Nations, and his trip to China, Japan, and India in 1934 as a representative of the U.S. Treasury to study the silver situation.
Southeast Asia Collection, 1912-1984.
Call Number: MS 743
Note: this collection does not yet have an online finding aid; an unpublished finding aid is available in the repository.
An artificial collection of pamphlets, papers, letters, speeches, songs, printed material, posters, photographs, and miscellanea relating to the politics, culture, and life of the Southeast Asia region.
The collection consists of posters published in nations involved in World War I, 1914-1918, the Spanish Civil War, and World War II, 1939-1945. Great Britain, the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Russia, Canada, Australia, Ireland and other nations are represented through posters depicting such diverse topics as recruitment, enlistment, conservation, war loans, civilian service, home relief, foreign relief and propaganda messages. Posters issued by government agencies, social organizations, and private concerns are included.