Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
March 1: Bass Library reopened; Sterling and Bass resume evening and weekend hours. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Japanese Special Collections at Yale: EAL Japanese special collection

Overview of the collection

The EAL Japanese rare book collection held in Beinecke Library consists of over 1900 titles, mainly of Edo-period woodblock-print books of a variety of types: novels, dictionaries, maps, picture books, calligraphy samples, and travel accounts.

Associations

Overseas Japanese Antiquarian Materials Study Group (OJAMASG)

Yale University East Asia Library is a member of the OJMASG.

How to use the collection

To request viewing of items in the EAL Japanese special collection in Beinecke

1. View the collection list to identify items you wish to view. 

2. Click call number of titles to submit the request materials to use in Beinecke Reading room.

3. Please know that each item must be requested at least two days in advance of your visit.

4. If you are not affiliated with Yale University and visiting Beinecke first time, bring two types of photo IDs (driver's license, passport, etc.) at the time of your visit.

5. For more information, please visit Beinecke's plan your visit page.

 

Visit Beinecke!

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
121 Wall Street New Haven, CT
(203) 432-2977

Please be sure to check the access information prior to your visit for hours of operation and procedures to access the Beinecke collections.