This is the "Home" page of the "Manuscripts and Archives holdings related to Japan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Manuscripts and Archives holdings related to Japan   Tags: asian studies, east asian studies, japan, japan studies, japanese studies, primary sources  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/JapanManuscripts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tools

  • Yale Finding Aid
    The finding aids database for archival and manuscript collections held in Yale University. It provides information about “the creation, historical context, arrangement, and content of archival and manuscript collections as well as the information necessary for users to identify and request the portions relevant to their research.”
  • Orbis Search
    Orbis searches also reveal collections in Manuscripts and Archives. For example, searching "Japan" and "atomic bomb" as keywords in the advanced search box and specifying Manuscripts and Archives will bring up records of such collections as the Papers of George B. Darling, the executive director of the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission in Hiroshima in 1957.
  • Using Manuscripts and Archives
    This self-guided tutorial is an introduction to the methods for locating primary source material at Yale, particularly in Manuscripts and Archives.
 

About collections

Collections related to Japan in the Manuscripts and Archives are very rich in travel accounts of Yale professors to Japan, records of Japanese graduates from Yale which includes many photographs of Japan, personal correspondences from Japanese notable figures, and some artifacts collected in Japan, etc.  The collections are categorized by subject or primary emphasis.  Click appropriate tab above to discover related collections for your research.


If visiting the Manuscript and Archives is the first time, please check the Using Manuscripts and Archives Tutorial.


Example of Collections:


Japanese petition attributed to the hand of Yoshida Shoin (吉田松陰.)


Image of Japanese petition attributed to the hand of Yoshida Shoin 吉田松陰.

Samuel Wells Williams family papers, 1809-1983 (inclusive), 1809-1941 (bulk). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

 

Visit Manuscripts & Archives!


View Larger Map

 

Manuscripts & Archives

Yale University Library
P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

Phone: (203) 432-1735
Fax: (203) 432-7441
E-mail: mssa.assist@yale.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip