Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Biology: More Biology Reference Sources

This guide identifies information resources useful to general biology including databases, news, and other reference sources. Helpful links for determining journal abbreviations are also provided.

More Biology Reference Sources

 

 

DICTIONARIES  

 

Dictionary of Biology, 6th ed., 2008, edited by Elizabeth Martin and Robert S. Hine. 2008 paper ed. location

Henderson's Dictionary of Biology, 15th ed., edited by Eleanor Lawrence. Benjamin Cummings/Pearson, 2011 location

Dictionary of Gene Technology: genomics, transcriptomics and proteomics, 4th ed. 3 volumes by Gunter Kahl. Wiley-VCH, 2009 location

Glossary of Biotechnology Terms by Kimball R. Nill. CRC Press, 2002. In print at Marx Library TP248.16 F54X 2002 (LC)

Oxford Dictonary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. A 2006 Oxford University Press book.

 

ABSTRACTS OR INDEXES

BioLine, from BioLine International. Provides access to peer-reviewed research journals published in developing countries.

 

HANDBOOKS

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology, 9th ed., edited by John G. Holt et al.  Williams & Wilkins, 1994. location Description and classification of all the bacteria cited in the world literature from class to species to subspecies. Revised edition of shorter Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology.

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, 2nd ed., edited by D. R. Boone, R. W. Castenholz, and ed-in-chief George M. Garrity. 2001 location

Biology Data Book, 2nd ed., edited by Phillip L. Altman and Dorothy Dittmer. Federaton of American Societies of Experimental Biology,1972-74. 3 volumes paper ed. location additional location

Biochemical Pathways: an atlas of biochemistry and molecular biology. 2nd ed. 2012 location

Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry. 2012, 29th edition from McGraw-Hill Medical

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. 2003. 17 volumes with Index. Discusses the life and natural history of animal groups. Illustrated.

Encyclopedia of Biostatistics. A 2005 encyclopedia from John Wiley & Sons.

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry. 2013 from Academic Press.

GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE

Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology by Diane Schmidt, Melody M. Allison, Kathleen A. Clark and others. Libraries Unlimited, 2006. 3rd ed. 2006 location

Guide to Reference and Information Sources in the Zoological Sciences by Diane Schmidt. Libraries Unlimited, 2003 location

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Lori Bronars's picture
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science & Social Science Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library

non-Marx Library office hours:
Mondays 1:30-2:30 pm YSB Marsh Lecture Hall Lobby
Tuesdays 9-10 am 1st floor break room OML
Fridays 1:30-2:30 pm BASS 205
203 432 6213