Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Biology: Special Collections Materials at Yale

This guide identifies information resources useful to general biology including databases, news, and other reference sources. Helpful links for determining journal abbreviations are also provided.

Special Collections Materials at Yale

The Rachel Carson Papers are available for research. This collection at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library consists of 118 boxes of letters, newspaper clippings, photos, and printed material related to Rachel Carson's life and career. The material spans 1921-1989. Call number YCAL MSS 46. For more information on the collection see its finding aid in Orbis.

The Rachel Carson Papers Addition are available for research. This collection at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library consists of 7 boxes of correspondence, writings, photos, artwork, ephemera and printer material. The bulk of the material is on Rachel Carson's childhood and family, spanning 1897-1999. Call number YCAL MSS 630. For more information on the collection see its finding aid in Orbis.

John Spangler Nicholas Papers are available for research with the exception of 1 box containing student grades (restricted for 75 years after creation). This collection consists of correspondence, writings, photos, and research files documenting the professional career and personal life of John Spangler Nicholas, biologist and zoologist who served as Yale's Sterling Professor of Biology 1939-1962 and Chair of the Dept. of Zoology (1946-1950); he also served on the editorial board of the Journal of Experimental Zoology. Call number MS 929 in Sterling Memorial Library's Manuscripts and Archives. For more information on the collection see its finding aid in Orbis

Sea-side Walks of a Naturalist with His Children by Rev. W. Houghton, 1870, with 8 colored plates and numerous wood engravings. Yale Center for British Art, Rare Books & Manuscripts (non-circulating) QH91 H6 1870.

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Lori Bronars's picture
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science & Social Science Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library

non-Marx Library office hours:
Mondays 1:30-2:30 pm YSB Marsh Lecture Hall Lobby
Tuesdays 9-10 am 1st floor break room OML
Fridays 1:30-2:30 pm BASS 205
203 432 6213