Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Zoology and Natural History: Selected Bibliographies

This guide identifies major information resources in zoology including databases, bibliographies, sources of illustration, taxonomy sources, and field guides.

Selected Bibliographies

 

Bibliography of American Natural History, the Pioneer Century, 1769-1865: the role played by the scientific societies, scientific journals, natural history museums and botanic gardens; state geological and natural history surveys, federal exploring expeditions in the rise and progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology, and zoology. By Max Meisel,  3 volumes 1924 1967 ed. location 

Bibliographia Zoologiae et Geologiae, a General Catalogue of All Books, Tracts, and Memoirs on Zoology and Geology, by Louis Agassiz.  This 4-volume work provides a listing by author of works from the 17th Century through the early 19th Century. 1848 location 

Dean Bibliography of Fishes. A classic bibliography published in 3 volumes, over 1916-1923 and amassed by Dean Bashford of the American Museum of Natural History. Contents of references are grouped into sections including: author listings, anonymous works, pre-Linnaean publications, general bibliographies, voyages and expeditions, and a subject index with morphology and systematic listings. 1968/1969 paper ed. location 

19th Century Masterfile/Catalogue of Scientific Papers, Royal Society. Covers transaction and journal literature 1800-1863. Arrangement is by author. In the database go to Advanced Search to limit searching to the Catalogue of Scientific Papers, see under Source. To get to Advanced Search from the default search box click on Go.

International Catalogue of Scientific Literature. Issues in sections, with "N" covering zoology and consisting of 22 volumes. subject and systematically-arranged listings are provided. Published 1901-1914 by the Royal Society of London. location 

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. This index, created by a once Yale student, is a good source for literature citations from English-language magazines, 1802-1881 and supplements to 1908. The online version is in the 19th Century Masterfile database. 1963 paper ed. location cumulative author index 1802-1906 paper ed. location 1848 An alphabetical index to subjects paper ed. location 

Oxford Bibliographies - Evolutionary Biology - Over 60 bibliographies in the subject area of evolutionary biology. 

 

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University

Office hours: Mondays 10:15-11:15 am BASS 205 (when classes are in session)
203 432 6213