It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free online resources on composers: general websites, websites dedicated to specific composers (biographies, bibliographies and discographies), websites of composer societies, digital collections, and women composers.
The American Bach Society supports the study, performance, and appreciation of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach in the United States and Canada. Online publications include Bach Notes (2004-present) and The American Bach Society Newsletter (2000-2002). The website provides links to other Bach organizations and to Bach festivals, as well as a small selection of interesting Bach illustrations.
The American Beethoven Society is an international organization of individuals devoted to the study and appreciation of Beethoven's life, music, and influence on culture and society to the present day.The Society co-publishes the Beethoven Journal and helps support the Beethoven Gateway, a comprehensive Beethoven bibliography available for searching through the Internet.
The website mainly contains information about the American Handel Society and presents an online newsletter with reports on scholarly developments, notices of upcoming conferences and performances, reviews of books and recordings, an annual discography, lists of recent publications, and news of the Society.
Biographical information about Paul Hindemith, list of works and letters, bibliography/discography, current news and information about Hindemith Foundation, Hindemith Institute and Hindemith Music Centre.
The aim of the Charles Ives Society is to advance the preparation and publication of critical editions of music by Charles Ives—editions rigorously faithful to authentic sources and also suitable for performance. The site provides information about Charles Ives’s life, gives access to the catalog of his works and presents a photograph gallery and a bibliography.
The International Machaut Society is devoted to the study, criticism, performance, research, and exchange of ideas related to all aspects of the works of the poet and composer Guillaume de Machaut (ca. 1300-1377) and their manuscript and performance traditions.
The Foundation supports a number of initiatives, with the purpose of increasing public awareness of Prokofiev's life and work, and advancing research and performance.This site provides information on the Serge Prokofiev Archive and Foundation, news on international events and performances, and listings of new publications.
The Scriabin Society of America has as its purpose the furtherance of the music and ideas of Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915). The website provides biographical information and a list of compositions. It also presents publications, posts Scriabin Society events and links to resources on the web concerning Scriabin.
Founded by Lenya in 1962, the non-profit, private foundation is dedicated to promoting understanding of Weill's life and works and preserving the legacies of Weill and Lenya. The foundation administers the Weill-Lenya Research Center; a Grant Program, the Kurt Weill Book Prize and the Lotte Lenya Competition, and publishes the Kurt Weill Edition and the Kurt Weill Newsletter.