It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free online resources on composers: general websites, websites dedicated to specific composers (biographies, bibliographies and discographies), websites of composer societies, digital collections, and women composers.
You can start here to find composers' biographies and lists of works. The initial three are sites that archive the websites of contemporary composers. As composers die and their websites are no longer maintained, these archives will help ensure that the valuable information here continues to be available.
The Archive aims to preserve for researchers the personal / official websites belonging to these notable contemporary composers in order to assure the continuing availability of the important, and potentially ephemeral content they contain, such as: biography, bibliography, discography, recordings, writings, lists / notices of performances, audio and video performances, photos, press notices, and more. The composers represented are 20th-century composers still active in 1975; works by those composers deceased before 1975 but published for the first time in significant new editions after 1975 (optional among members); and composers active after 1975. A project of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation Music Libraries (Yale and others)
The Classical Composers' Archive features a searchable database of biographical information on more than 1,000 composers. The archive highlights specific composers on the anniversary of their birth. The resource also notes other births, deaths, and events that occurred on each day regarding composers.
This website contains information, resources, and links for MOLA (Major Orchestra Librarians' Association ) member librarians, as well as for other musicians, conductors, publishers, and administrators.
This index lists those composers for which there is a dedicated page at Classical Net website that may include a biography, recommended works, recommended recordings, and other related reviews and articles.
For composers listed in the index there are either: complete opera lists, with date and place of premiere or time of composition if known; and/or links to individual pages providing additional information.
"A non-profit database...which aims to provide composers, listeners, performers, and researchers with a source of information about the music of our time." Offers links to websites of hundreds of contemporary composers.