Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Taxonomic Keys: Taxonomic Keys Resources in Print & Online

This guide covers resources for helping to identify plants or animals.

Selected Taxonomic Keys Resources in Print & Online

 

All the World's Primates from Primate Conservation, Inc. Signed accounts which include a color photo, conservation information, diet, life history, behavior, social system, habitat, physical measurements, literature citations and Visual Key to Primate Genera.

Marine Animals of Southern New England and New York by HM Weiss 1995 location 

Systematics and Biology of the New World Thief Ants of the Genus Solenopsis (Hymenoptera: Formicidae) by Jose A. Pacheco and William P. Mackay 2013 location  

Student's Guide to the Seashore by JD Fish and S Fish. 2nd ed.1996 location 

Keys to the Tropical Fruit Flies of South-East Asia: (Tephritidae: Dacinae) by RAI Drew and MC Romig. 2016 location

Plants of Central French Guiana Part 4. Liverworts and Hornworts 2009 location 

A Dictionary of the Flowering Plants and Ferns by JC Willis. Revised by HK Airy-Shaw 1973 location 

Syllabus der Pflanzenfamilien by A Engler, edited by H Melchior 1954 location 

Plants and Their Names: a concise dictionary by R Hyam and R Pankhurst 1995 location 

National Wildlife Federation Field Guide to Trees of North America 2008 location 

Muenscher's Keys to Woody Plants: an expanded guide to native and cultivated species by EA Cope 2001 location 

Wildflowers of the Coastal Plain: a field guide , includes the lower Mississippi River Valley, Gulf, and Atlantic coastal States by R Neyland. Marx Library 2009 location 

An Illustrated Flora of the Northern United States, Canada and the British possessions by NL Britton and A Brown 3 volumes 1970 location 

Aquatic and Wetland Plants of Northeastern North America: a revised and enlarged edition of Norman C Fassett's A manual of aquatic plants by GE Crow and C Barre Hellquist paper ed. location  Aquatic and Wetland Plants of Northeastern North America: a revised and enlarged edition of Norman C Fassett's A manual of aquatic plants. Volume 1, Pteridophytes, Gymnosperms and Angiosperms: dicotyledons 2000 and Volume 2, Angiosperms: monocotyledons 

Gray's Manual of Botany: a handbook of the flowering plants and ferns of the central and northeastern United States and adjacent Canada by ML Fernald 8th ed. 1950 location 1970 reprint location 

New England Wildflower Society's Flora Novae Angliae: a manual for the identification of native and naturalized higher vascular plants of New England by Arthur Haines 2011 paper ed. location 

Botanical Keys to Florida's Trees, Shrubs, and Woody Vines: a guide to field identification by Gil Nelson 2011 location  

Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida, 3rd ed., by RP Wunderlin and BF Hansen 2011 location 

Flowering Plants: smartweeds to hazelnuts by RH Mohlenbrock and PM Thomson Jr. 2009 paper ed. location 

A Handbook of the World's Conifers by Aljos Farjon 2 volumes 2010 location  

The World of Northern Evergreens by EC Pielou 2nd ed. 2011 paper ed. location 

An Integrated System of Classification of Flowering Plants by A Cronquist 1981 location 

The Identification of Flowering Plant Families: including a key to those native and cultivated in north temperate regions by J Cullen 1997 location 

Yeasts, a Taxonomic Study by CP Kurtzman and JW Fell 4th ed. 2000 location 

Ecology and Classification of North American Freshwater Invertebrates by JH Thorp and AP Covich 2010 paper ed. location  online ed. Ecology and Classification of North American Freshwater Invertebrates 

Guide to Identification of Marine and Estuarine Invertebrates by KL Gosner 1971 location 

Systema Porifera: a guide to the classification of sponges by JNA Hooper 2002 paper ed. location 

Taxonomic Keys to Plant, Soil and Aquatic Nematodes by BE Hopper and EJ Cairns 1959 paper ed. location 

American Insects; a handbook of the Insects of America north of Mexico by RH Arnett, Jr. 2000 location 

Nymphs of the Planthoppers and Leafhoppers of Germany 2013 location 

Bees of the World by CD Michener 2nd ed. 2007 paper ed. location  online edition Bees of the World 

Amphibians and Reptiles of Texas with keys, taxonomic synopses, bibliography, and distribution maps by JR Dixon 3rd ed. 2013 location 

Key and Field Guide to the Australian Possums, Gliders and Koala by Andrew Smith and John Winter 1997 location 

Peonies of the World: Polymorphism and Diversity by De-Yuan Hong 2011 location 

Lives of Conifers: a comparative account of the coniferous trees by G Powell 2009 location 

Vascular Flora of Illinois: a field guide by Robert H Mohlenbrock 4th ed. 2014 paper ed. location 

Plants of the San Francisco Bay Region: Mendocino to Monterey by Linda H. Beidleman and Eugene N. Kozloff 3rd ed. 2014 location 

Weeds of North America by Richard Dickinson and France Royer 2014 location 

Arkansas Butterflies and Moths by Lori A. Spencer 2nd ed. 2014 location 

Insects of Southern Africa edited by Clarke H. Scholtz and Erik Holm 1985 location 

 

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library


203 432 6213