Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.

MCDB 303L/MCDB 201L (Advanced) Molecular Biology Lab - Library Resources: Additional Reference Sources

This guide integrates molecular biology resources with those useful as laboratory methods or protocols sources.

Additional Reference Sources

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS   

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, Over 20 volumes. An online encyclopedia for biology from Wiley.

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology, edited by Thomas E Creighton. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 4 volumes, 1999 location 

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine edited by Robert A. Meyers. VCH Publishers, 6 volumes, 1996/1997 - Somewhat lengthier signed articles on topics within molecular medicine and structural biology. Articles include bibliographies and some illustrations. Vivian Irish and Peter Moore, Yale faculty members, respectively contributed and advised on the development of this work. location 

MSDS Sigma-Aldrich Material Safety Data Sheets. A cd-rom available at the Medical Library.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 5th ed. 2004-2007 27 volumes paper ed. location 

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry 2nd ed. from Elsevier 2013

Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes. Database of molecular-level information on biological systems such as the cell, the organism, and the ecosystem.

DICTIONARIES

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 2006 book from Oxford University Press

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton and Diana Sainsbury. 3rd, revised ed. 2006. Definitions of terms and names. Appendices illustrate a number of cycles and biosyntheses. 

Dictionary of Biology 6th ed. 2008 edited by Elizabeth Martin and Robert S. Hine paper ed. location 

Henderson's Dictionary of Biology 15th ed. edited by Eleanor Lawrence. Benjamin Cummings/Pearson, 2011 location 

Dictionary of Cell & Molecular Biology by John M Lackie. Academic Press 4th ed. 2007  A successor to Dictionary of Cell Biology. The authors state that the expanded and updated title reflects both the growth of molecular entries and the use of the 2nd edition when it was freely available on the Internet. Intended to be of use from high school to professional level. location 

Dictionary of Gene Technology: genomics, transcriptomics and proteomics 4th ed. 3 volumes by Gunter Kahl. Wiley-VCH 2009 location 

Glossary of Biotechnology Terms by Kimball R. Nill CRC Press, 2002. In print at Marx Library TP248.16 F54X 2002 (LC)

ABSTRACTS OR INDEXES

19th Century Masterfile, database including search limit to the Royal Society's Catalogue of Scientific Papers 1800-1900 (use Advanced Search)

BioLine, from BioLine International. Provides access to peer-reviewed research journals published in developing countries.

 

HANDBOOKS

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology 9th ed., edited by John G. Holt et al. Williams & Wilkins, 1994 location Description and classification of all the bacteria cited in the world literature from class to species to subspecies. Revised edition of Shorter Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology. (Index Bergeyana is an alphabetical listing of the bacterial taxa location supplement location)

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, 2nd ed., edited by D. R. Boone, R. W. Castenholz, and ed-in-chief George M. Garrity 2001 location 

Biology Data Book 2nd ed., edited by Phillip L. Altman and Dorothy Dittmer. Federaton of American Societies of Experimental Biology,1972-74. 3 volumes paper ed. location 

Biochemical Pathways: an atlas of biochemistry and molecular biology 2nd ed. 2012 location 

Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry  29th ed. 2012 from McGraw-Hill Medical

Laboratory Protocols in Applied Life Sciences, by Prakash S. Bisen 2014 location 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Lori Bronars's picture
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science & Social Science Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library

non-Marx Library office hours:
Mondays 1:30-2:30 pm YSB Marsh Lecture Hall Lobby
Tuesdays 9-10 am 1st floor break room OML
Fridays 1:30-2:30 pm BASS 205
203 432 6213