Home - MCDB 303L/MCDB 201L (Advanced) Molecular Biology Lab - Library Resources - Yale University Library Research Guides at Yale University

Installation/Account Registration

The latest version of the EndNote desktop software is available free to Yale affiliates. EndNote Online and SciFinder require registration. Please register if you do not have an existing account.

SciFinder

EndNote Online

EndNote 21 desktop software
(Install from Yale Software Library)

Find news

US Major Dailies
Full text access to the five US newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.

Nexis Uni
U.S. and world news publications, plus broadcast transcripts, magazines, and wire services.

Current News Sources
Guide current news sources available at the Yale Library.

Getting Started (Find Books and Articles using Quicksearch)

Top Resources

BIOSIS Previews
Premier botany bibliographic database. International coverage of biology and life science journals 1926-.
Google Scholar
Search results in biology complement those from the BIOSIS Previews database.
PubMed
Popular biomedical bibliographic database. Over 26 million citations.
SciFinder-n
Major chemistry bibliographic database. The online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts, going back to 1907.
Scopus
Interdisciplinary database covering major international journals in all fields. Coverage begins for some journals in the 1800s.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary bibliographic database covering major international journals 1900-. Includes cited reference searching besides author and topic searching.

Methods and Protocols

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods in genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience, and cell, developmental and molecular biology.
Wiley-Blackwell Current Protocols
Contains complete contents of: Current protocols in molecular biology, protein science, cell biology, cytometry, human genetics, immunology, neuroscience, nucleic acids chemistry, pharmacology, toxicology,and magnetic resonance imaging, and bioinformatics.
Journal of Visualized Experiements (Biology)
A peer-reviewed journal.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology)
Peer-reviewed videos.
Methods (Methods in Enzymology)
From Elsevier, in Science Direct.
Springer Nature Experiments
A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods for conducting experiments. It brings together content from Springer protocols, Nature methods, Nature protocols and Protocol exchange.

Additional Resources

BRENDA
Comprehensive enzyme information system for academic use from Dietmar Schomburg, professor at Institut fuer Biochemie, Universitaet zu Koln, Germany.
GenBank
The U.S. database of nucleotide sequences. From their website and Nucleic Acids Research 2005 Jan. 13:33 (Database issue):D34-D36, it is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publically available DNA sequences.
PIR (Protein Information Resource)
A protein sequence database known for its classified and annotated entries.
Protein Data Bank
From the Reserch Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB). This database is a worldwide repository for 3D structural data on proteins.
OpenHelix
This site shows how to use web genome browsers for organisms whose genomes have been sequenced. Tutorials include: Functional Glycomics Gateway, GenoCAD, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM), UCSC Genome Browser, World Tour of Genomics Resources. See free tutorials.
SWISS-PROT Protein Knowledgebase
Protein sequence database providing manually annotated entries for many species, concentrating on annotation of proteins from model organisms.

Connect With Your STEM Librarians!

Need help? Contact us at marx.reference@yale.edu or make an appointment below. Virtual and in-person options are both available.

Kayleigh A. Bohémier
Science and Engineering Librarian
(Other skills: LaTeX/Overleaf, Zotero, metrics)

Andy Shimp
Science and Engineering Librarian
(Other skills: EndNote, patent searching, metrics)

MCDB 303L/MCDB 201L (Advanced) Molecular Biology Lab - Library Resources: Home