It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SNAPSHOT DATABASE. Newspaper titles from many African countries, in English and local languages. The resource can be searched by country of publication. Not all the resources are actually in microform; all of the subscriptions to hard copy have lapsed. Please note that the Microform Reading Room is currently closed, however microfilm readers are available in the Bass Library.
Offers coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items. This resource provides news and perspectives from a wide range of counties and cultures during a time of sweeping change.
The online catalog can be searched by resource type "newspapers" or "serials" and country of publication. CRL's collection includes newspaper and serial titles from most African countries. Yale affiliates can make interlibrary loan requests for any microfilmed newspapers or periodicals in the catalog.
Includes key newspapers from the region published between the 1940s and the early 2000s. This growing collection currently includes over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added in the near future.
Run by a largely volunteer community that verifies and translates trending news and stories from blogs, independent press, and social media around the world. News items are translated from and into a wide variety of languages. Coverage back to November 2004.
Source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Replaces LexisNexis academic.
An international newsstand right on your desktop! Online access to over 7300 newspapers from 140 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. In most cases, a 60-day news archive is available.
While this news resource covers the world, by searching in the advanced search mode by the region "Africa" or by keyword for the names of countries in Africa, a researcher can find news articles from and about individual countries. Complete archive of translated and English-language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. The archive covers news from Nov. 1995-Dec. 31, 2013, when the daily updates for World News Connection were discontinued.
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. FAQ and help with Ethnic NewsWatch