Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collecting and Provenance Research: Auctions

Stolen art



The Art Loss Register
A pay-per-search database of stolen and lost artworks from around the world.



The Object Database contains details of over 25,000 objects looted, missing and/or identified from over fifteen countries.



Searchable registry of objects in U.S. museum collections that changed hands in Continental Europe during the Nazi era (1933-1945).


The IFAR Journal includes an extensive stolen art update in each issue.

Researching auctions

These pages describe resources and reference works useful for finding information about prices paid at auction for works of art; locations of auction catalogues, both current and historical; and information about auction houses and works of art sold at auction.

The pages are divided into five categories:

Sale information: Resources for online auction results and print indexes of results.

Auction catalogues: How to find auction catalogues at yale and beyond.

Historical auction information: How to access historical information (catalogues and indexes) in print and online.

Auction houses: Information about the major international auction houses.

Glossary: a glossary of terms and phrases used in auction catalogues.