It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries. More than 145,000 records from 1989-present are included, with content added annually.
The Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) provides access to more than 2,000 scholarly journals across Eastern Europe, in addition to publications about Eastern Europe from Japan, Turkey, the U.S. and U.K.
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest provides access to a curated selection of Russian news sources translated into English. Very useful for readers of English looking for information on how various events are being reported in Russian-language media.
The famous satirical journal Krokodil is digitized here in its entirety (1922-2008), and in addition to full-text searchability, the image metadata on its pages is also indexed, allowing you to search through its copious illustrations.
This small digital archive contains the full run of Lef and Novyi Lef, journals produced by the members of the early Soviet association Left Front of the Arts. The Beinecke Library also has physical issues of some journals in the run.
The massively popular illustrated weekly Niva ran from 1870-1917 and contains content on nearly all subjects for nearly all ages. An excellent source for analysis of 19th century Russian popular culture and media.
By far the most often consulted of our available digital newspaper archives, the Pravda Digital Archive contains all issues of the official organ of the Russian Communist Party (1913-present). An essential source for official party communications throughout the entire Soviet era. Its current issues can be found in the Russian Central Newspapers database.
A compendium of titles that predate the contemporary journal Kultura, this archive is a major source on Soviet and Russian perspectives on arts and culture spanning 1929-2013. Current issues can be found in the Russian Central Newspapers database.
The Universal Database of Regional Russian Newspapers (UDB-REG) provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The database represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil & gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered as most authoritative. Access is available only through 2016.
Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life. They include official publications (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Rossiiskie vesti), popular and business newspapers (Argumenty i fakty, Moskovskii komsomolets, Komsomolskaia pravda, Kommersant, Vedomosti), trade publications (Gudok, Stroitel’naia gazeta, Ekran i scena, Uchitel’skaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta), in short important publications which cover news about and provide commentary on contemporary Russia. Independent media, with the exception of Novaia Gazeta and Nezavisimaia Gazeta, are presented as online versions with the same original content (The New Times, Republic) allowing users to have access to the entire spectrum of opinions and perspectives.
The Universal Database of Russian Military and Security Periodicals (UDB-MIL) includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered by this database, including the Russian Air Force, Army and Navy. Equally important, the database includes a trove of English-language sources. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. Access is available only through 2016.
This database includes all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis.
The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus (UDB-EUR) includes important periodicals published in these newly independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian, they cover various issues of domestic and international importance. Access is available only through 2016.
The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. AP-Blitz, an information agency, offers its daily newsline, Tajikistan News in Brief. Another important publication from the same region is The Times of Central Asia, a business weekly published in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan). A notable feature of the database are the journals published by the Center for Economic Research in Tashkent (Uzbekistan). Their content covers critical analytical and statistical data on the economic dynamics of Uzbekistan society, changes in social and economic development of Uzbekistan. Access is available only through 2016.
A selection of reputable journals on Russian, East European, and Eurasian issues compiled by the staff at the Slavic Review. Some are open access, and most are available through institutional subscription at Yale.
ViFaOst (Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Osteuropa) is a web portal that allows you to search for bibliographic citations and full-text articles from a variety of Western and Eastern European sources. The content is primarily in German, though other Western and Eastern European languages are represented.