Skip to main content

Slavic, East European and Central Asian Research Guide: About the Collection

This is a guide about Russian, East European, and Central Asian research methods and materials at Yale.

What's in this tab?

This tab will introduce you to the Slavic and East European Collection.

Primary subject areas collected are in the humanities and social sciences, with an emphasis on acquisition of materials from Russia, Poland, the Czech Republic, the Baltics, and other countries in Eastern Europe. While Russian language holdings constitute the majority of the collection (approximately 40%) and Polish holdings are also strong (close to 20%). All Slavic languages are represented, and publications in German, English, and other western European languages published in the Slavic and East European imprint area are also acquired. The Slavic & East European Collection is also responsible for collecting materials published in the fields of Russian and East European studies (primarily history and all humanities disciplines) published in North America, Europe, and other imprint areas outside of Russia and Eastern Europe. Materials from the republics in Central Asia are not actively collected, but may be acquired on request. Note that materials related to the Russian and East European diaspora in the United States are acquired by the Librarian for American History.

One of the oldest Slavic Collections in the United States, the Yale's collection has a rich history stretching back to its foundation in 1896 through a gift from Joel Sumner Smith. Today, significant holdings include:

Other collections will be added as this LibGuide is completed.

Slavic, East European, and Central Asian materials are also well-represented in special collections throughout the Yale University Libraries; for more information about those holdings and how to access them, see the Special Collections tab.