Guide to scholarly resources in Iberian Studies curated by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries.

On May 15th of 2011, thousands of activists and sympathizers gathered at Puerta del Sol, one of the best known and busiest places in the city of Madrid, to protest and demand solutions to rising unemployment and other symptoms of the ongoing economic crisis in Spain. They were joined by tens of thousands of protesters who demonstrated in streets and public spaces across Madrid, Barcelona and several other Spanish cities. In what became known as the Indignados or 15M (short for May 15th) Movement and it had a profound impact in Spanish politics and society. This collection consists of over three hundred digital images of protest signs.

Collection of 22 women's periodicals published in 19th century Spain.

A selection of literary women's journals & magazines.

A selection of 18th century Spanish newspapers

This collection reflects the complex history of Spain through its periodicals and newspapers, dating from the 18th-20th centuries, with the bulk of the collection dating from the 19th century. This folder includes a sample of some of the titles that have been digitized.

ArchiveGrid describes primary sources for material on family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records with direct search access to dispersed collections and collection descriptions. Locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.

Links to archive by region, diaspora and country, as well as international archives containing Ibero-Americana.

El Archivo Virtual de la Edad de Plata de la cultura española contemporánea (1868-1936) es un sistema de información creado por la Residencia de Estudiantes que tiene como objetivo difundir el conocimiento de este período de la vida intelectual española.

BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries. Highlighted digital collections in geography and travel, periodicals, music, and tales and legends.

Digital archives on Latin America at the National Library of Spain. Contains manuscripts, maps, photographs, drawings, etc.

List of many documents on the Portuguese and Spanish history. Listed by date of publication and collection. 1175-2004; Spanish and Portuguese facsimiles.

La primera en lengua castellana, es un fondo bibliográfico con obras de Literatura, Historia, Ciencias, etc

113 volumes published from 1842-1895. Available electronically through Hathi Trust. Yale Libraries also has the hardcopy and a copy on microfilm.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Provides links to free scholarly websites of digitized primary documents and online digital archives on European history. Browse by country, language, period, subject, or type of source.

.pdf file of primary sources for the study of Latin America in Spain.

Newspaper and magazine archive

Acceso público a la colección digital de las revistas y prensa histórica española que alberga la Biblioteca, con una colección inicial compuesta por 143 títulos de prensa y revistas. Se puede buscar por assunto, titulo o lugar.

Newspaper and magazine archive

Access to over a million digital objects from 121 repositories in Spain. A project of the Ministry of Culture. (Searchable database of documents, facsimiles, transcriptions, photos, sound recordings, etc.)

Includes primary and secondary documents, provided by Don Mabry. (Transcriptions, facsimiles and commentaries, mostly in English)

Digitized primary documents for medieval Spain, the Golden Age, 18th and 19th centuries, 1936 to present, legal and governmental documents, local and regional history sources and historical collections

Digital documents from medieval Spain, Golden Age, 18th and 19th century, and 1936 to present. Also divided by sources by topic, legal and governmental documents, local and regional sources and historical collections with links to digital archives all over the world.

Has some online documents for medieval Spain.

Provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies.

A collection of correspondence; government documents, including reports, commissions, decrees, and awards; church documents; and writings and poems from Spain on civil, military, economic, religious, and social topics.

Reune las descripciones bibliográficas de los fondos de las bibliotecas auxiliares especializadas de los Archivos Estatales y del Centro de Información Documental de Archivos todos ellos dependientes de la Subdirección General de Archivos Estatales del Ministerio de Cultura de España. Es la principal fuente de información y difusión de sus colecciones.

Contains online versions of secondary works and some primary sources, some in the English language.

El Portal Manuscritos de América en las Colecciones Reales nace de la colaboración entre la Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes y la Real Biblioteca de Patrimonio Nacional. Este proyecto se constituye con un doble objetivo: postularse, en primer lugar, como una nueva herramienta en la investigación de los fondos bibliográficos sobre América Latina que posee el Patrimonio Nacional (Real Biblioteca y Biblioteca del Real Monasterio de El Escorial); en segundo lugar, permitir el acceso a todo este corpus de una manera unificada, posibilitando así la reconstrucción virtual de la antigua colección de Manuscritos de América, con la incorporación al proyecto de los fondos de los Colegios Mayores Salmantinos, devueltos en 1954 a la Biblioteca General de la Universidad de Salamanca.

A portal and database created by Spain's Ministerio de Cultura containing more than twenty million documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archivo de las Indias and Archive of the Spanish Civil War.

Free internet-based bio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance. It consists of 4 separate bibliographies: BETA - Bibliografía Española de Textos Antiguos Medieval texts in Spanish; BIPA - Bibliografía de la Poesía Áurea
Golden Age Poetry in Spanish; BITAGAP - Bibliografia de Textos Antigos Galegos e Portugueses; BITECA - Bibliografia de Textos Antics Catalans, Valencians i Balears
Medieval texts in Catalan.

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, etc.