Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

WGSS 365: Gender, Justice and the Environment: WGSS 363 - Beauty, Fashion & Self-styling

Subject headings

You can begin searching in Orbis using a string of keywords but the most successful way is to use subject headings. Check out the tab above for suggested subject headings relating to gender studies.

Examples of subject headings:
Clothing and dress
            -- Asian
            -- Africa
            -- other geographic locations (both North America & around the world)
Fashion
Aprons
Cloaks
Uniforms
Body image
Self-identify
Hispanic americans -- Social conditions
Beauty, Personal
Clothing trade

Please fill this out!

I'm always looking to improve my teaching. Please help me by filling out this instruction evaluation form. Thanks!

Access databases from off-campus

Instructions for accessing databases from off-campus can be found here.

Finding Books

You can begin searching in Orbis using a string of keywords but the most successful way is to use subject headings. Check out the tab above for suggested subject headings relating to gender studies (in general) or more specific subject headings to the left.

To search for books that are not in Yale Library, use WorldCat, a catalog of more than 50 million holdings from libraries around the world.

Finding Articles

One place to find journal articles is to search in one of the library's many databases. Some of the databases provide you with a link to the full-text of the article. To locate others that are not full text, try one of these options:

In the database click on the Yale Links icon (shown below)

Yale links

This will take you to another window which identifies other databases that have full-text of your article. However your article may only be available in print so always check Orbis. If Yale doesn't have access to it, you can always request it through InterLibrary Loan. Here are some of the databases that you may want to use for your research paper:

Sociological Abstracts

AnthroSource

Anthropological Literature

Sociological Abstracts

LGBT Life

Gender studies databases

Black Thought & Culture

International Index to Black Periodicals

Your Personal Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Snow